2016 ACADEMIC BOARD ELECTIONS

Candidate statements – University-wide Professors category

Associate Professor Tania de Koning-Ward (promoted to Professor from 1 January 2016)

Tania is a Professor within the School of Medicine. In 2008 she was appointed as Senior Lecturer for the BMBS Course. During this time Tania has established and leads a vibrant and very successful research program that has led to high impact publications, grant funding in excess of \$5 million and award of the Commonwealth Health Minister's Prize for Excellence in Medical Research. Tania sits on the Professoriate Committee for the Centre for Molecular and Medical Research (C-MMR; theme co-leader), is a member of various editorial boards and discipline-specific committees and has made significant contributions to grant peer review and mentoring ECRs. Tania would like to bring her collective expertise to Academic Board particularly to help strengthen the capacity, innovation and quality of research undertaken at Deakin.

Professor Johnson Mak

Johnson joined Deakin in 2011 and is currently the Chair of Infectious Diseases at the School of Medicine within the Faculty of Health. Johnson is a researcher with a strong focus on HIV research, and has received a number of national and international competitive funding grants from ARC, NHMRC, NIH, ACH2, and Pfizer Foundation. He is currently Associate Editor and Section Editor of Retrovirology and Virology Journal, respectively, and a member of editorial boards for a number of journals. Johnson has been recipient of NHMRC ECF, Monash Logan Fellowship, Pfizer Foundation Fellowship, ARC Future Fellowship, Australian Society of Microbiology (ASM) Frank Fenner Award, ASM Fellow and UK Cambridge Jane Allen Lectureship.

Professor Tong Lin

Tong is a Personal Chair and Australian Research Council Future Fellow. He received his PhD degree in physical chemistry from Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1998. After several years of postdoctoral research in Australia and the United States, he joined Deakin in 2003. During his more than 12 years serving for Deakin, he has worked as Research Academic, Senior Research Fellow, Associate Professor in Fibrous Materials, and now Chair Professor. He is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC, UK), editorial board and advisory panel member of several journals, and a member of a number of professional societies.