Supporting your Deakin student. Deakin resources for parents and partners of current students. Find out more.

The Chancellor

Mr David Morgan

The ChancellorMr David Morgan was appointed Chancellor of Deakin University on 1 January 2006. Previously he was a Deputy Chancellor from 2000 to 2003 and Chair of Council's Finance and Business Affairs Committee from 2000 to 2005.

David retired as president of the Ford Motor Company of Australia in June 1999 having been appointed to that position in November 1995.

During his 40-year career with Ford, he held numerous positions in the Australian sales and marketing operations, as well as in Ford Asia Pacific, located both in Melbourne and in Taiwan.

In 1996, David was elected president of the Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries and became directly involved with the Australian government in the development of a national plan for the car industry.

David has a close affiliation with the City of Greater Geelong and the Geelong region. He is a former Chairman of the Geelong Economic Development Board and a former Chairman of the G21- Geelong Region Alliance Ltd.

David is a former member of the Board of the Australian Trade Commission (Austrade) and completed his term as Chairman of the Austrade Audit and Risk Committee in February 2013. He is a former member of the Board of the Victorian Centre for Advanced Materials Manufacturing and is Chairman of the National Motor Vehicle Theft Reduction Council funded by the state governments and the Insurance Council of Australia, which is working towards the reduction of vehicle theft throughout Australia.

David chairs Council, the Chancellor's Advisory Committee, the Honorary Degrees Committee, the Remuneration Committee and the Remuneration Subcommittee.


Page custodian: Governance Services
Last updated: