Deakin Chancellor awarded Member of the Order of Australia

Alumni news
15 June 2016

Deakin University Chancellor John Stanhope has been acknowledged as a Member of the Order of Australia (AM, General Division) as part of Monday’s annual Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Mr Stanhope received the honour in recognition of significant service to the financial and national communication sectors through a leadership.

Deakin Vice-Chancellor Professor Jane den Hollander congratulated Mr Stanhope on behalf of the university community.

“Deakin is delighted Mr Stanhope has been acknowledged at the highest level for his contribution. This recognition is very-well deserved,” Professor den Hollander said.

“Deakin is fortunate to have Mr Stanhope as our Chancellor, a position he has held since the beginning of this year.

“Prior to becoming our Chancellor, Mr Stanhope joined the Deakin Council in 2012 and we have been fortunate to have benefited from his wisdom and experience.

Mr Stanhope’s contribution extends across the nation in many ways, as his leadership has had an impact on a variety of important sectors.”

Mr Stanhope has extensive experience in governance, finance, accounting and business strategy.

He was Chief Financial Officer and Group Managing Director, Finance and Administration with Telstra Corporation from 2003 to 2011 and was an Executive Director of Telstra from 2009 to 2011.

He has held numerous company directorships and has been a Director of AGL Energy Limited since 2009 and Chairman of the Bionics Institute since May 2012.

In November 2012 he was appointed Chairman of Australia Post.  He is also the current Chairman on the Melbourne International Jazz Festival.

Mr Stanhope is a Fellow of the Institute of Company Directors, CPA Australia, Chartered Accountants Australia, the Australian Institute of Management and the Human Resources Management Institute.

He is also a former Deputy Chair of the Deakin Council's Investment Committee and a former member of its Finance and Business Affairs Committee, as well as a Deakin Alumnus and previous DUSA President.

In 2014 he received a Deakin Alumni Lifetime Achievement Award.

Share this story

Share this story

More like this

Alumni news