Awards and achievements

Deakin fosters an environment in which teaching and research excellence is recognised and celebrated. We regularly do well in the Australian Awards for University Teaching, and our researchers are recognised nationally and internationally for their innovative work.

Award-winning teachers

Our teaching staff have won a number of prestigious teaching awards.

International recognition

  • QS Wharton Reimagine Education global awards – innovative higher education pedagogies enhancing learning and employability
  • Gold Global prize for ICT Support and Services for The Deakin Watson initiative
  • Bronze Oceania award for Deakin Anywhere

Awards for Teaching Excellence 2015

Dr Gery Karantzas, Faculty of Health

Dr Gery Karantzas has enhanced the learning outcomes of over 10,000 undergraduate students in the discipline of psychology. Gery’s teaching reflects innovative, cutting-edge practice that has established him as a national leader in teaching and learning. He has created rich, immersive, inquiry-based learning experiences that enhance student motivation for learning, resulting in demonstrable improvements in students’ development of psychology graduate attributes.

Dr Mike Weston, Faculty of Science Engineering and Built Environment

Dr Mike Weston draws upon almost two decades of industry experience in environmental science to inspire and motivate students, and to create learning experiences that are authentic and topical. As Course Director, Mike leads the Bachelor of Environmental Science (Wildlife and Conservation Biology), a popular and growing course with high levels of student satisfaction and innovation.

Citations for Outstanding Contribution to Student Learning 2015

Norma Barrett, Faculty of Health

For excellence in developing coherent and imaginative digital learning resources that transform how thousands of students critically assess and interpret health information and statistics.

Dr Jade Sheen, Dr Clint Gurtman, Professor Jane McGillivray, Faculty of Health

The Deakin Psychiatric Simulation Program created by this team uses simulation-based teaching and authentic assessment methods to enhance mental health education.

Other awards in 2015

Governor of Victoria Export Awards

Deakin University was named Education and Training Provider of the Year in 2015.

World-class research

Advances in research have been a hallmark of Deakin's success in recent years, with impressive growth in quality, impact and income. Our researchers are making a positive impact on the lives and wellbeing of communities in Australia and around the world, supported by four research institutes and 13 strategic research centres.

Excellence in Research for Australia

Excellence in Research for Australia is a comprehensive quality evaluation of all research produced in Australian universities against national and international benchmarks.

Deakin’s ERA 2015 results show a significant improvement over the 2010 and 2012 results, with the numbers of fields of research rated at or above world standard increasing from 47% in 2010 to 89% in 2015.

Ranking by subject

By subject, in the Excellence in Research for Australia national assessment Deakin received the top ranking of 5, defined as well above world standards, in:

  • macromolecular and materials chemistry
  • environmental science and management
  • zoology
  • materials engineering
  • human movement and sports science
  • medical microbiology
  • neurosciences
  • nutrition and dietetics
  • pharmacology and pharmaceutical sciences
  • medical physiology.

Research grants

Deakin researchers attract significant funding through competitive research grants.

Australian competitive grants

Deakin won over $7m in National Competitive Grant funds to support an Industrial Transformation Training Centre (ITTC) and five Linkage Projects in the 2016 ARC Linkage Programme rounds.

We were one of only six universities to be awarded funding for an ITTC, and received 100% of the amount requested.

The five ARC Linkage Projects boosted research income by an additional $2m.

Leading researchers at Deakin

  • The title of Alfred Deakin Professor is the highest honour Deakin can bestow on its academics, with Professor Mirko Bagaric (Business and Law), Professor Neil Barnett (Science, Engineering and Built Environment), Professor Colin Barrow (Science, Engineering and Built Environment) and Professor Ian Chen (Science, Engineering and Built Environment) honoured in 2015. 
  • Australian Laureate Fellow Professor Maria Forsyth was elected to the Australian Academy of Science in 2015.
  • Professor David Lowe, Chair in Contemporary History, was elected to the Australian Academy of Social Sciences in 2015.
  • Professor Michael Berk was awarded the 2015 Brain and Behaviour Research Foundation Colvin Prize for Bipolar Mood Disorder Research and the 2015 Founders Medal by the Society for Mental Health Research.
  • Professor Paresh Narayan,was awarded the Mahalanobis Memorial Medal (International) for the year 2014. This award is issued once every four years and acknowledges an outstanding contribution to economics.
  • Ecologist Dr Emily Nicholson from the School of Life and Environmental Sciences is an inaugural VESKI Inspiring Women Fellow, a program acknowledging outstanding women in science and innovative technology.
  • Five Deakin researchers (Professor David Crawford, Professor Kylie Ball, Professor Jo Salmon, Professor Michael Berk and Professor Anna Timperio) were identified in the Thomson Reuters 2015 list of Highly Cited Researchers.

Apply for a staff learning award

The following annual awards are offered: 

  • Vice Chancellor's Award for Teacher of the Year or Teaching Team of the Year (open to individual or team, one award per year)
  • WJC Banks Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Learning (individual or team, one award per year) 
  • Jim and Alison Leslie Award for Outstanding Achievement in Teaching and Learning (individual or team, one award per year) 
  • Deakin Award for Teaching Excellence (individual or team, up to nine awards per year).

Who can apply?

All Deakin University academic and general staff are eligible to apply. Please note that only academic staff will proceed to the Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teacher of the Year.