About Deakin

Maroondah Education Coalition

Deakin University's partnership with four secondary schools in Melbourne's eastern suburbs - Ringwood, Parkwood, Norwood and Maroondah Secondary Colleges - forms the Maroondah Education Coalition (MEC). This partnership is aimed at delivering mutual benefits over a wide range of areas and includes:

  • a better teacher placement system for schools
  • improved educational opportunities for school students (students participate in a Master Class program - e.g. environmental education classes - at Deakin)
  • an increased profile for Deakin University
  • high-quality relationships with school personnel.

Although still in development, the partnership has offered the MEC several 'products' that are now transferable to other schools. These include:

  • business efficiencies
  • models of best practice
  • intellectual development (ideas for collaborative research between Deakin academics and school personnel)
  • improved professional practice
  • improved quality and consistency.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

14th March 2011