Alfred Deakin Research Institute


Parliamentary Governance and Leadership Group

The Parliamentary Leadership and Governance Group (PLGG) is hosted by the Alfred Deakin Research Institute at Deakin University, Geelong. It was established in November 2011 and is a unique group in the parliamentary strengthening field. It’s key features are:

  • Primary focus on building capacity of Parliaments, MPs and parliamentary staff
  • Independent, practitioner based advice - no agendas
  • Works in collaboration with others in the parliamentary strengthening field
  • Providing a point of contact particularly for developing countries, and assiting with visits
  • Actively networks with parliamentary groups such as CPA - twinning in pacific - and can be an 'in Australia agent' particularly for Pacific region parliaments

The PLGG currently has an agreement with the Australian Aid Agency (AusAID) which AusAID provides funding for training and research to support parliamentarians and parliamentary staff in holding the Executive to account for its use of public moneys to ensure that services are delivered economically, efficiently and effectively.

The Summer Residency Program for Public Accounts Committees

The Summer Residency Program for Public Accounts Committees is an annual program which receives financial support from the AusAID. The Summer Residency Program for Public Accounts Committees is a parliamentary strengthening program aimed at improving the capacity of legislatures, particularly those in developing countries, to carry out their function of financial oversight of the executive.

The Summer Residency Program for Public Accounts Committees is supported by the World Bank Institute, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and the Centre for Democratic Institutions and has to date attracted almost 250 Members of Parliament, Auditors-General, Audit Office and Parliamentary Staff from more than forty Asian, Pacific region and African countries.  55 participants from 10 countries were involved in the 2012 Summer School.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

16th April 2013