Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library


Ned Kelly at the Waterfront!

Ambush title picture


'Ambush: Ned Kelly and the Stringybark Creek murders', a Victoria Police Museum touring exhibition, is currently on display at the Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library until 6 May 2011.

This exhibition focuses on one of the Kelly Gang’s most horrific crimes: the murder of three policemen at Stringybark Creek in October 1878.  A number of never-before-seen objects are on display – including Ned Kelly’s blood-stained cartridge bag and a hand-drawn map of the Stringybark Creek ambush site – allowing you to investigate this case through the eyes of the only surviving witness.


More information

-    Education kit for Ambush (3 MB)
-    Ned Kelly
-    Victoria Police Museum


Opening hours

Monday: 10.00 am - 4.00 pm
Tuesday: 10.00 am - 4.00 pm
Wednesday: 10.00 am - 4.00 pm
Thursday: 10.00 am - 4.00 pm
Friday: 10.00 am - 4.00 pm
Saturday: 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm
Sunday: 12.00 pm - 4.00 pm

Easter opening hours

Good Friday - closed
Easter Saturday: 12:00 pm - 4.00 pm
Easter Sunday: 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Easter Monday / Anzac Day: 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Easter Tuesday: 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm




The Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library is also free of charge, available to Deakin University staff, students and the general public.


How to find us

Getting to the Geelong Waterfront Campus.

Map of the Geelong Waterfront Campus.

The Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library and Lascelles Exhibition Gallery are located on the ground floor of the Dennys Lascelles Building, on the corner of Western Beach Road and Cunningham Street, Geelong. Enter via Western Beach Road or Cunningham Street.

On-street parking is available on Western Beach Road and limited parking is available in the University car parks, which are permit only.


Contact information

Kristen Thornton
Curator and Librarian
Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library
Deakin University Library
Geelong Waterfront Campus
Geelong Victoria 3217


Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

29th August 2012