Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library


Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library

exhibition image

Banks' Florilegium: the Australian botanical prints is the latest exhibition from Deakin University Library to showcase items exclusively from the Library's own Special Collections. This visually stunning exhibition features a selection of prints taken from the engraved plates prepared by Joseph Banks after his circumnavigation of the globe with Captain Cook in 1768-1771. The plates depict the new flora he found on the voyage and the prints on display represent a selection of Australian botanical specimens.

The exhibition was launched on the evening of 26 September by Professor David Cahill, Associate Dean (Research), Deakin University. Professor Cahill has kindly made available the notes from the fascinating introduction to the exhibition that he provided at the launch.

There is a checklist available of the prints on display.

Open from 27 September to 22 November 2013.

Opening hours

Monday: 10.00am - 4.00pm
Tuesday: 10.00am - 4.00pm
Wednesday: 10.00am - 4.00pm
Thursday: 10.00am - 4.00pm
Friday: 10.00am - 4.00pm
Saturday: 12.00pm - 3.00pm
Sunday: 12.00pm - 3.00pm



The Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library is also free of charge, and is available for use by Deakin University staff, students and the general public.

How to find us

Getting to the Geelong Waterfront Campus.

Map of the Geelong Waterfront Campus.

The Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library and Exhibition Gallery are located on the ground floor of the Sally Walker Building, on the corner of Western Beach Road and Cunningham Street, Geelong. Enter via Western Beach Road or Cunningham Street.

On-street parking is available on Western Beach Road and limited parking is available in the University car parks which are permit only.

Contact information

Kristen Thornton
Curator and Librarian
Alfred Deakin Prime Ministerial Library
Deakin University Library
Geelong Waterfront Campus
Geelong Vic. 3220


Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

31st October 2013