Centre for Research in Educational Futures and Innovation


January 2014

Educational researcher and practitioner responses to Pyne's review of National Curriculum

An open letter to the Education Minister can be found on the Sydney Morning Herald website, here

The Sydney Morning Herald's story which links to the full letter is here.

There is also a mention of the letter in a piece in The Australian, here.

OECD Publish ILE Book

OECD Publish "Innovative Learning Environments", to which CREFI members significantly contributed.

October 2013

Congratulations to Jill Blackmore for being elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences

The President of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, Professor Deborah Terry, is pleased to announce that nineteen new Fellows of the Academy will be installed at the Academy's Annual Symposium and General Meeting 11 to 13 November 2013.

Each of these scholars has been recognised by the Academy as having built a distinguished research career in one or more social science disciplines in Australia.

August 2013

OLT Grant Success!

Congratulations to Russell Tytler for funding of the project: Reconceptualising mathematics and science teacher education programs through collaborative partnerships between scientists and education.

This project will establish a network of four leading universities  - Melbourne, Monash, La Trobe and Deakin - dedicated to developing new teacher education practices that align contemporary practices in the sciences with innovative and engaging approaches to teaching and learning. The project will support the extension of existing collaborations to break new ground in development of approaches to teaching and learning that exemplify contemporary scientific and mathematical practices, a framework that will guide these approaches,  effective approaches to collaboration between science and education academics that can support this, and approaches to dissemination and cooperation that will provide maximum impact in the field.

July 2013

Congratulations to  Deakin academics in the latest round of ARC Linkage Grants!

Dr Peter Hubber - Faculty of Arts and Education will work on “Developing digital pedagogies in inquiry science through a cloud-based teaching and learning environment” Team members are Professor Russell Tytler, Dr Alan Finkel and Mr Peter Laver. Partner Organisations are the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and STILE Education Pty Ltd

Lyn Harrison will work on "Turning them on: engaging young people in disrupting silences about their sexual wellbeing" with Bruce Johnson (UniSA), Deb Ollis, Helen Calabretto, Colleen McLaughlin, Jane Flentje. This project will investigate what young people think they should be taught in school-based sexuality education programs. This information will inform the re-design of these programs and promote the sexual health of the next generation of Australians.

More details to follow.

June 2013

Minister Peter Garrett has just issued a press release on the government's Asia Literacy agendas, and released the report of the DEEWR funded study conducted by School of Education academics (Halse, Coonan, Dyer, Kostogriz, Toe, Weinmann) on "Asia Literacy and the Australian Teaching Workforce".

"A new report released by Deakin University, Asia Literacy and the Australian Teaching Workforce, highlights the importance of the Government’s commitment to supporting Asia literacy in schools.

“For Australia to remain competitive in the Asian Century, young Australians need to have the skills to build strong relationships with Asia, so it’s vital our schools can provide language classes and opportunities for further study,” Mr Garrett said.

“Almost 2000 teachers and school leaders were surveyed for the report, the largest study on this topic to date, and it takes stock of existing awareness of Asia, expertise in our schools, and provides a clear plan for future improvements.”"

For the full release see: 


May 2013

Congratulations to our HDR student Anna Vella who was awarded the inaugural Dr Lawrie Shears scholarship for work she is undertaking for her PhD in the School of Education,  Deakin University.

The scholarship was presented last evening at the inaugural Dr Lawrie Shears Lecture.  This lecture series has been instituted by DEECD with sponsorship from Bankmecu to honour  Dr Shears outstanding and sustained contributions to Victorian Education.  The event was attended by Minister Hall and the lecture presented by Dr Suzanne Cory Professor Suzanne Cory AC PhD FAA FRS, President, Australian Academy of Science.

The theme for the evening was Science Education and Anna Vella was acknowledged for her work with the students at Copperfield College in the area of environmental studies, and for the work she is undertaking for her PhD here at Deakin University with Dr Laura Barraza and A/Prof Peter Hubber, part of the STEME Research Group. Anna is examining the environmental practices, values, attitudes, knowledge and understandings of indigenous Australian and Mexican youth.  Her research aims to open up dialogue and empower youth in Indigenous communities through knowledge about careers in environmental management and conservation.

ARC Success

Congratulations to Professor Russell Tytler for being part of a successful bid for the Science of Learning Centre led by  University of Queensland with University of Melbourne, ACER, Deakin, Flinders, UNE and international colleagues. A total of $16 million over four years has been allocated to the University of Queensland to establish a Science of Learning Research Centre. The Centre is funded through the Special Research Initiatives scheme administered by the Australian Research Council (ARC).  

Back to top