Researcher of the Year Awards

Deakin University had a successful night at the 5th Smart Geelong Network Researcher of the Year Awards.

The University won eight of 10 awards given out on the night.

Dr Darren Palmer, of the School of History, Heritage and Society, in the Faculty of Arts and Education was a joint recipient of two of these awards.

  • Highly Commended, Research of the Year: Dr Peter Miller and Dr Darren Palmer

  • Safer Communities Award: Dr Peter Miller and Dr Darren Palmer.

photo of Dr Darren Palmer, Amanda Bavin of the TAC, and Dr Peter Miller, receiving the TAC Safter Communities Award



The BioGeelong Highly Commended Award was presented to Dr Peter Miller and Dr Darren Palmer for their work on a project dealing with alcohol-related problems and the night-time economy.

Their program of research is a comprehensive investigation into innovative policing and local government and community based interventions that address the management of alcohol and its associated harms within and around licensed venues.


read more about the success for Deakin at Geelong Researcher of the Year Awards

Back to top