Staff listing

Find out more about staff members at Deakin Business School's Department of Economics. Here you can see staff profiles, link through to their publications and get in touch.


Department Head
Professor Pasquale Sgro

Director of Research
Associate Professor Debdulal Mallick

Director of HDR/PhD program
Associate Professor Jaideep Roy

Director of Teaching
Associate Professor Helen Scarborough

Director of Industry Engagement
Dr Wenying Yao

Director of International
Dr Munirul Nabin


Associate Professors

Senior Lecturers


Research Fellow

Administrative staff


P = Principal
A = Associate
E = External 

NamePhD topicSupervsior
Lan Anh TongThree Essays on the Trade Effect of US Farm SubsidiesDr Cong Pham (P)

Prof Mehmet Ulubasoglu (A)
Franziska WolfOptimal Hedging Policy and Capital Structure: Is there and optimal mix?Prof Pasquale Sgro (P)

Dr. Sukanto Bhattacharya (A)

Dr. Terry Boulter (E)
Matthew Peter LarkinThree essays on the Australian housing marketDr Prasad Bhattacharya (P)

Dr Omar Bashar (A)
Zhansulu BaikenovaDynamic Reference DependenceProf Nejat Anbarci (P)

A/Prof Jaideep Roy (A)
Mohammad Shihab KhanSwing voters' behaviour in BangladeshProf Chris Doucouliagos (P)

Dr Samarth Vaidya (A)

Dr Hao Jia (A)
Robin VisserCommercial diplomacy as an international business-supporting activityProf Pasquale Sgro (P)

Dr Xuan Nguyen (A)

Dr Munirul Nabin (A)
Ana Marija DaboEssays in land reforms, legal systems and economic developmentProf Mehmet Ulubasoglu (P)

Dr Prasad Bhattacharya (A)

Dr Xueli Tang (A)
Huong Thu NguyenThree essays on the effects of China's exportsDr Cong Pham (P)

Prof Mehmet Ulubasoglu (A)
Nourin ShabnamEssays on Early Life Malnutrition and its Long-Term ConsequencesProf Mehmet Ulubasoglu (P)

Dr Cahit Guven (A)
Tam TrinhNon-life insurance expenditure in developed and developing economiesProf Pasquale Sgro (P)

Dr Xuan Nguyen (A)
Sreeparna SahaImperfect democracy and the political economy of land acquisitionA/Prof Jaideep Roy (P)

Prof Nejat Anbarci (A)
Mostafa KamalInflation Dynamics, Monetary Policy Framework and Productivity Response to shocks in Emerging National EconomiesDr Mokhtarul Wadud (P)

Prof Pedro Gomis Porqueras (A)