Third annual Michael Kirby Contract Law Moot

The third annual Michael Kirby Contract Law Moot was held at Victoria University on 23 to 25 September 2013, and the Deakin Law School was represented in the event for the second time after previously fielding a team in the inaugural competition.

The Deakin Law School team was one of 24 teams participating from 15 different Australian universities. The Kirby Contract Law Moot requires students to apply Australian contract law to a commercial dispute, while at the same time addressing evidentiary issues arising out the parties' correspondence and exhibits, in the context of an arbitration conducted pursuant to the rules of the Institute of Arbitrators and Mediators Australia.

The 2013 Deakin Law School team was comprised of Nicola Morris, Ella Vines, Kelsey Ippolito and Devesh Khanna. All four team members are experienced mooters having previously competed in the 2012/2013 Willem C. Vis International Commercial Arbitration Moot. Ben Hayward, Lecturer in Law at the Deakin Law School, also acted as an arbitrator in the event, judging nine separate rounds across the three days of competition.

The Deakin Law School team performed exceptionally well - the team progressed to the elimination rounds, received an Honourable Mention for its Memorandum for the Claimant, Nicola Morris was the recipient of an Honourable Mention for her performance in the preliminary rounds and Ella Vines received the award for the best oralist overall in the preliminary rounds.

The Deakin Law School would like to congratulate the team on their outstanding results, particularly given that their preparations and participation took place over and above their Trimester 2 study commitments. Well done Nicola, Ella, Kelsey and Devesh!

Deakin Kirby Moot Team

Ben Hayward (Lecturer in Law), with Nicola Morris, Kelsey Ippolito, Devesh Khanna and Ella Vines (the Deakin Law School team), at the announcement of the finalist teams. (Image copyright Victoria University.)

Back to top