Faculty of Business and Law

School of Management and Marketing

Sport Management awards 2013

The Deakin Sport Management Program, with assistance from award partners, the advisory board and its alumni offers a number of annual course and subject level prizes for students demonstrating excellence within the program.

Pamm Phillips,  Malcolm Speed, Marianne Roux, Lewis O'Flynn, Prof Paul Couchman
From left: Assoc Prof Pamm Phillips, Adjunct Prof Malcolm Speed, Marianne Roux (Cricket Australia), Lewis O'Flynn (MCC) and Prof Paul Couchman (Head of School, Management and Marketing)

Major awards

Our major additional prizes for top graduates in the Master of Business, Bachelor of Business and Bachelor of Sport Development were presented as part of the Bowater Trust Medal night in May 2013 at Royal South Yarra Tennis Club. We thank our award sponsors for their ongoing support of our program and respective awards and congratulate our winners for their outstanding results over the course of their time in the program.

Award winners

Adam Karg, Paul Turner, Paul Van Oosten, Ellie Ingwesen
Dr Adam Karg (L) and Dr Paul Turner (R) with 2013 course award winners Mr Paul Van Oosten (MBus) and Ms Ellie Ingwesen (BBus)

Tennis Australia Top Graduand in the Master of Business: Paul Van Oosten

Australian Football League Top Graduand in the Bachelor of Business: Ellie Ingwesen

Athletics Victoria Top Graduand in the Bachelor of Sport Development: Jun Chen

Subject Level Awards

Malcolm Speed

The Deakin Sport Management Annual Careers and Awards night was held on campus in April 2013, coninciding with the 2013 subject award presentations. The night commenced with a presentation from the programs Adjunct Professor Malcolm Speed, who spoke about his career spanning senior roles in cricket, basketball and golf among other sports. He was then joined by Marianne Roux of Cricket Australia and Lewis O'Flynn of the Melbourne Cricket Club, who shared their backgrounds and experience from roles within the industry.

Deakin Faculty and students were then joined by award sponsors and families of award winners for presentations in our subject prizes. A big thank to our speakers and sponsoring organisations for their continued support of the awards.

We congratualtate the following winners:

Krystal Whitaker

Cricket Australia Award for best Sport Marketing Case Study: Krystle Whittaker

Cricket Victoria Award for best student in Strategic Management: Tim Murdoch

IMG Award for best student in Sport Organisation Theory: Shelley Miller

Sophie Peskett

AFL Award for best student in Sport Marketing: Sophie Peskett

Jakub Syslo and Edward Bates

Netball Victoria Award for best Strategic Sport Marketing plan: Jakub Syslo and Edward Bates

Hugh Lyons

MCC Award for best student in Sport and The Law: Hugh Lyons

sport management awards sponsors

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

11th November 2013