Faculty of Business and Law

School of Management and Marketing

William Stratmann and Kean Selway, Bowater TrustOn William Stratmann- Making Top Honours with the help of Cricket Australia

William Stratmann completed his undergraduate degree in Sport Management (Deakin University) in 2009 and continued in search of building more skills to distinguish himself in the ever increasingly competitive sport employment marketplace. Thus, Will enrolled in the Honours program with co-supervisors Dr Sheila Nguyen and Dr Paul Turner.

His year was one that was marked with making strong friendships, working closely with Cricket Australia and engaging in a number of research skills (e.g., focus groups, interviews, analyses). Will noted that 'it was good to learn about the research process and the various steps that one takes in developing a project, and it was enjoyable to interview CA employees and to look at the research subject from multiple perspectives.'

Further, Will noted that his Honours experience was one that was different from his undergraduate studies in that it was 'more personal' working with his lecturers in a directed and supervised project. This translated into his commitment to and subsequent recognition for his hard work as the recipient of the Top Honours award for his thesis entitled 'Exploring Stakeholder Expectations and Perceptions of Corporate Social Responsibility in the Sports Industry: A Case Study of Cricket Australia.'

When attending the Bowater Trust dinner to receive recognition for Top Honours, Will met Malcolm Speed (former ICC Chair). From this chance meeting, Malcolm invited Will to work with him on various projects, relating to topics such as the structure of world golf, match-fixing incidents, corruption in sport, and sports betting in Australia, the US and the UK. As the Top Honours award recipient, Will has represented our program well and we wish him the best in his next career steps.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

15th February 2013