Supporting your Deakin student. Deakin resources for parents and partners of current students. Find out more.

Contact a chaplain

 Deakin's Multifaith Chaplains deliver an important link for staff and students between the wisdom and guidance offered by all religions and the diversity of beliefs. It is not necessary to belong to any religious faith in order to use the chaplaincy services. Services on-campus and online include:

  • opportunities to discuss and explore religion and faith
  • prayer, reflection and worship opportunities
  • support during times of personal crisis
  • information about religious events on and off-campus
  • promotion of multifaith harmony and acceptance.

All Deakin University Chaplains are fully accredited by the Council for Chaplains in Tertiary Institutions in Victoria and are members of the Tertiary Campus Ministry Association (Australia).


Melbourne Burwood Campus

Rev. Chris Appleby

Contact details

St Thomas' Anglican Church
Phone: 03 9808 3250
Fax: 03 9808 1249
Mobile: 0422 187 127
email: chris.appleby@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Wednesdays 11 am-2 pm
Other times by appointment

Rev. Jessica Cheung

Contact details

St Stephen's Anglican Church, Greythorn
Phone: 03 9857 0261
Mobile: 0403 380 837
Email: jessica.cheung@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Mondays 10 am-3:30 pm
Wednesdays 10 am -4 pm
Other times by appointmentt

Mrs Helen Edmonds

Contact details

Chaplaincy Coordinator
Catholic Chaplain

Phone: 03 9813 3007
Mobile: 0413 134 715
Email: helen.edmonds@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Tuesday
Wednesday (Elgar Rd, EC2.17)
Other times by appointment

Rabbi Moishe Weiss

Contact details

Jewish Chaplain
Mobile: 0425 770 960
Email: Moishe@chabadcampus.org.au

Availability

Contact for availability details

Imam Riad Galil

Contact details

Mobile: 0401 995 879
Email: riad.galil@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Contact for availability details


Geelong Campuses

David Martin

Contact details

Presbyterian Church of Victoria
Phone: (W) 5227 2061, (H) 5245 7410
Mobile: 0418 666 470
Email: d.martin@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus
Tuesday all day, jb2.108 Geelong Waterfront Campus
Monday morning and Thursday afternoon, Student Life office

Available at all times on the mobile phone number listed above.

Barbara Donovan

Contact details

St. Bernard's Parish
Phone: home (phone or fax): 5245 6360
Mobile: 0409 554 346
Email: barbara.donovan@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Geelong Waterfront Campus
Wednesday mornings, Room   D 2209
Geelong Waurn Ponds Campus
Wednesday afternoon and Thursday all day, jb2.108

Available at all times on the mobile phone number listed above.

Rev Elizabeth Breakey

Contact details

Mobile: 0404 165 096
Email: ebreakey@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Geelong Waterfront Campus
Monday and Friday


Warrnambool Campus

Don Stewart

Contact details

Phone: 03 5563 3111 or 5562 0633
Mobile: 0437202080
Email: donald.stewart@deakin.edu.au

Availability

Wednesday and Thursday or by appointment


Back to top