Bachelor of Information Technology (I.T. Security)

Course summary for current students

Award granted Bachelor of Information Technology (I.T. Security)
Duration3 years full-time or part-time equivalent
CRICOS course code055288B
Deakin course codeS334

Note: Offered to continuing students only.

Continuing students should contact their course advisor for further information.

Further course structure information can be found in the handbook archive.

Course sub-headings

Course overview

Deakin's Bachelor of Information Technology (IT Security) will provide you with a sound knowledge and understanding of general issues, concepts and practices in IT, particularly in the area of IT security.

You will learn in a leading-edge study environment, and graduate as a qualified IT professional who is eminently employable. You will gain practical and theoretical knowledge in this critical aspect of IT with an emphasis on understanding and assessing the need for IT security in a working environment, knowledge of the security solutions available – what they are and how they work – and understanding the business, ethical and legal implications of risk management. There is also an emphasis on analysis, investigation, problem-solving, development and technical skills related to IT security.

You will also be encouraged to develop generic skills, enabling you to be an effective and efficient employee.

Equipment requirements

Students must have access to a suitable computer and a network connection. Information about the hardware and software requirements may be obtained from the School of Information Technology's website, or by telephone 03 9244 6699.

Fees and charges

Fees and charges vary depending on your course, your fee category and the year you started. To find out about the fees and charges that apply to you, visit the Current students fees website.

Course rules

To be awarded a Bachelor of Information Technology (IT Security), a student must pass 24 credit points, which must include eight core IT units plus eight stream core units. The remaining four credit points may be selected from units offered by any area of the University.

Students should note that they must also comply with the following rules:

  • level 1 - up to 10 credit points
  • levels 2 and 3 - at least 14 credit points over both levels

Course structure

Level 1

SIT010Safety Induction Program *

SIT101Fundamentals of Information Technology

SIT102Introduction to Programming

SIT192Discrete Mathematics

SIT103Database and Information Retrieval

SIT104Introduction to Web Development

SIT182Real World Practices for Cyber Security

Level 2

SIT201 Unit no longer available, replaced by MSC228 Information Systems Analysis and Design

SIT282Computer Crime and Digital Forensics

SIT202Computer Networks


SIT284IT Security Management

Level 3

SIT301Unit description is currently unavailable

SIT384Data Analytics for Cyber Security

SIT392Public-Key Cryptography

SIT302Project Delivery

SIT382System Security

*Note: SIT010 is a 0 credit safety induction unit.