Current students

Course search

Bachelor of Zoology and Animal Science (Honours)

Course summary for current students

Award granted Bachelor of Zoology and Animal Science (Honours)
CampusOffered at Waurn Ponds (Geelong)
Cloud (online)No
Duration1 year full-time or part-time equivalent
CRICOS course code075366E
Deakin course codeS469

Course sub-headings

Course overview

The Bachelor of Zoology and Animal Science (Honours) course is designed for high-achieving students on completion of the Bachelor of Zoology and Animal Science.


Deakin’s Bachelor of Zoology and Animal Science provides you with a broad understanding of the current field of zoology and is suitable for students with an interest in the biology of animals. The course has a strong focus on Australian fauna and its unique importance in the global environment and is underpinned by the latest research in zoology.


Normally an overall level of academic performance at 70% or greater in level 3 units within the Bachelor of Zoology and Animal Science (or equivalent) is required to be eligible to join the honours program, with an alternative entry pathway to further consider relevant work experience assessed through an interview process.

Back to top

Fees and charges

Unit fees can be viewed within individual unit descriptions. You can search for a unit using the Unit Search.


Please be aware:

  • Fees are calculated on a per unit basis
  • Fees charged will depend on the individual units chosen
  • Fees per unit/credit point may increase annually due to rises in the cost of course delivery and services

Back to top

Course rules

To be awarded a Bachelor of Zoology and Animal Science, (Honours) students must complete a total of 8 credit points.

Back to top

Course structure


Students must complete the following core units:


Trimester 1

SLE420 Introduction to Biology Research  


SLE421 Honours Biology Coursework  


Trimester 2


SLE422 Honours Biology Thesis A  


SLE423 Honours Biology Thesis B  


Note: All units consist of 2 credit points.






Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007