Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

AIF145 - Conversational Indonesian

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Offering information:

Not available to students who are waiting on an offer from VTAC for the current year

Enrolment modes:

(B, X)

Credit point(s):2

Trimester 3 (Intensive mode)

EFTSL value:


Unit chair:R Fanany

This unit is an intensive unit of study for running in January and February.

Incompatible with:

AIF141, AIF142, AIF146

Contact hours:

4 hours per day, five days per week for five weeks


Online teaching methods require internet access. Please refer to the most current computer specifications.


This unit introduces students to the Indonesian language. It assumes no prior knowledge of the language. Students will acquire knowledge of basic Indonesian vocabulary, grammar and sentence construction and the skills to use them in a conversational and communicative manner fluently, naturally and confidently.


The unit focuses on proper pronunciation and natural intonation. Writing skills will be introduced as well. Students will become familiar with the Indonesian writing system through regular written assignments. Relevant aspects of Indonesian culture required for proper communication will be introduced.


  1. Regular attendance and active and quality participation in class activities, 20%
  2. Five quizzes on CloudDeakin, each one hour long, 20%
  3. Two Essays - essay one 250 words, essay two 250 words, 20%
  4. Oral test, 20%
  5. Final test, 20%


Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007