Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

ASP214 - Political Philosophy

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Enrolment modes:(B, G, X)
Credit point(s):1
Offerings: Trimester 1
Unit chair:D Kirsner
Incompatible with: ASP314, ASP319, ASP320
Note: Online teaching methods require internet access.
Please refer to the most current computer specifications.


The unit will take a historical view of the development of political philosophy by surveying the views of Plato, Aristotle, Machiavelli, Hobbes, Locke, Marx, Mill, Rawls and others. It will also highlight such themes as the rule of law, the legitimacy of power, democratic theory, social justice, critiques of liberalism, republicanism, the nature of the state and civil society.


On campus:

Two essays 2000 words each 50%.


Off campus:

Two essays 2000 words each 50%.

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007