Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

ECL762 - English Education B

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Enrolment modes:

(B, X)

Credit point(s):1
Offerings: Trimester 2
EFTSL value:0.125
Cohort rule:

(For students enrolled in course E760 only)

Unit chair:J O'Mara
Incompatible with:


Contact hours:

3 hours per week or equivalent


The unit focuses primarily on the teaching of English in the post-compulsory years, with particular, but not exclusive, reference to senior English and Literature. It consolidates work completed in curriculum studies in ECL761, particularly in relation to oracy, the teaching of texts and the development of response in the senior years, the presentation of issues and argument and the further development of writing. Models of assessment and reporting at this level will be examined, and major external influences and issues affecting the English curriculum, past and present, will be reviewed.


Task 1  60% A study of your teaching of writing and of students' work, which brings together your reading and conceptual understandings around the teaching of writing, curriculum policy and guidelines in Victorian schools, your classroom teaching and your analysis of and response to students' writing in English or other subject areas.


Task 2  40% A 20 minute digital presentation 1000 word reflection.  A presentation on an investigative task, comprising a digital presentation and reflective discussion.

Prescribed texts

Doecke, B & Parr, B 2005, Writing = Learning, AATE/Wakefield Press, Adelaide.

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007