Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

ELT713 - Researching the Leadership of Teaching

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Enrolment modes:


Credit point(s):1

Trimester 2

EFTSL value:0.125
Unit chair:A Gallant
Campus contact:

A Vongalis Macrow (X)


Minimum of 8 credit points of strand study (i.e. early childhood, primary or secondary teaching).


Must be enrolled in course E760, and units ELT711, ELT712

Contact hours:

3 hours per week or equivalent


Online teaching methods require internet access. Please refer to the most current computer specifications.


The content of this unit will be informed by the experience of ‘shadowing’ a leading teacher in an appropriate educational setting; data gained through observations, interviews and daily conversations will form the basis for an analysis of the experience.  Links to the concurrent leadership units regarding theories and contemporary practices in leading learning communities and developing students as researchers will inform the student’s analysis.


Task 1, 50%, A daily log of observations and reflective comments undertaken during the experience of shadowing a leading teacher in an educational setting for a minimum of 15 days.


Task 2, 50%, Transcription and analysis of a semi-formal interview with the subject teacher that demonstrates competencies in data collection and analysis and results in preparation of a 2000 word article ready to be submitted for publication in a professional journal.

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007