Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

HNN301 - Mental Health Promotion

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Enrolment modes:

(B, CBD, S, W)

Credit point(s):1

Trimester 2

EFTSL value:0.125
Cohort rule:

This unit is only available to students enrolled in courses D355, D381, D387, D392, H326.

Unit chair:

R Brown (B)

Campus contact:

E Marangu (S), E Guiney (W)

Contact hours:

1 x 1 hour lecture  1 x 2 hour tutorial

Note: Online teaching methods require internet access. Please refer to the most current computer specifications.


The unit forms part of the Parallel Nursing Studies cluster and aims to extend students’ knowledge of mental health issues and nursing practice exploring the social, economic, environmental, and political factors that influence mental health. Students will examine areas of risk and protective factors for mental health with a focus on contemporary mental health issues across the lifespan. In addition, students are provided with opportunities to examine the key role of nurses in identifying risk factors, early intervention, mental health promotion, and prevention of mental health problems.


Group project (equivalent 1500 words) 40%, assignment (2000 words) 60%

Prescribed texts

Hungerford, C, Clancy,R, Hodgson,D, & Jones,T 2012, Mental Health Care, An Introduction for health
, Wiley, Australia.

Recommended texts

Barry, M and Jenkins, R 2007, Implementing Mental Health Promotion, Churchill Livingstone, Philadelphia.

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007