Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

HSE208 - Integrated Human Physiology

Enrolment modes:Trimester 2: Burwood (Melbourne), Waurn Ponds (Geelong)
Credit point(s):1
EFTSL value: 0.125
Cohort rule:

Only available to students enrolled in H315, H343, D394, H355 OR S323 students completing the Nutrition and Exercise Science major (MJ-H000026) OR H300 and D391 students completing the Nutrition major (MJ-H000007).

Other students who would like to enrol in this unit must submit their request to Enrolment quotas apply.

Unit chair:

Anne Turner

Campus contact:

Waurn Ponds (Geelong): Liz Liberts




Must be enrolled in or have previously successfully completed HSE010

Contact hours:

5 x 1 hour seminars per trimester, 5 x 2 hour laboratories per trimester, 2 x 1 hour classes at Burwood (Melbourne) and Waurn Ponds (Geelong) per week


You will need to access substantial learning resources and experiences in CloudDeakin (Deakin’s online learning environment). Compliance with the Standards in computing, connectivity and student capability are a condition on your enrolment.


This unit provides an overview of the concept of homeostasis and physiological control systems; integrated physiological responses to various challenges to homeostasis in humans. The experimental methods utilised to assess physiological responses in the human will also be examined.


Assessment task 1: Written reports (2000 words) 50%

Assessment task 2: Examination (2 hours) 50%

Assessment task 3: Combined attendance of 75% of practical and seminar classes – hurdle requirement

Prescribed texts

Widmaier, E. P., Raff, H. and Strang, K. T. 2011, Vander’s human physiology: The mechanisms of body function, 12th edn, McGraw Hill, New York, NY/USA.


Widmaier, E. P., Raff, H. and Strang, K. T. 2014, Vander’s human physiology: The mechanisms of body function, 13th edn, McGraw Hill, New York, NY/USA.

Unit Fee Information

Unit fee information available soon

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007