Return to previous page

MAF307 - Equities and Investment Analysis

Unit details

Note: You are seeing the 2014 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Year2014 unit information
Enrolment modes:Trimester 1: Burwood (Melbourne)
Trimester 2: Burwood (Melbourne), Waterfront (Geelong), Cloud (online)
Credit point(s):1
EFTSL value:0.125
Unit chair:

S Deb (Trimester 1), B Li (Trimester 2)


MAE356/MAF356 or MAF256 and MAF202 or MAF255

Incompatible with: MAF207
Contact hours:

1 x 2 hour class, 1 x 1 hour seminar per week


You will need to access substantial learning resources and experiences in CloudDeakin (Deakin’s online learning environment). Compliance with the Standards in computing, connectivity and student capability are a condition on your enrolment.


This unit is about understanding  risk,  return  and capital  allocation  in financial  markets.  In particular, the emphasis is on equity investments, other asset classes, such as fixed income and derivatives are not discussed in this unit. A great deal of emphasis is laid on modern portfolio  theories, asset pricing  models, valuation of securities and portfolio performance evaluation.


Assessment 1 (Individual) - Cloud (Online) test - 10%

Assessment 2 - Simulated Investment and Portfolio Management - 20%:

-Part A (Individual) - Weekly Investment Strategy Journal - 10%

-Part B (Group) - Video presentation - Critical Analysis of Group's Investment Strategies -10%

Assessment 3 (Group of 2-3 students) - Written Group Assessment (3500 words) - 20%

Examination 2 hours (50%)

Hurdle requirement: students must obtain at least 50% of the available marks in the examination in order to qualify for a passing grade.

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page