Current students

Course search

Unit details

Return to previous page

MLL355 - International Litigation and Dispute Settlement

Note: You are seeing the 2013 view of this unit information. These details may no longer be current. [Go to the current version]
Enrolment modes:

(B, X-OS)

Credit point(s):1

Trimester 1 (B, X-OS as part of a Study Tour Moot Competition)

EFTSL value: 0.125
Cohort rule:(For Bachelor of Laws students only)
Unit chair:

B Hayward


B Hayward

Incompatible with: Nil
Contact hours: No set lecture schedule, team members will be required to meet regularly with each other and with the Coordinator.

Quota applies; Enrolment by application to the Unit Chair only. Online teaching methods require internet access. Please refer to the most current computer specifications.


The aim of the unit is to give students a basic understanding of the way international agreements and disputes are interpreted and resolved. Vis Moot students will be introduced to the law of international commercial arbitration and also the law relating to the international sale of goods.  Vis Moot students will consider topics relating to alternative dispute resolution; the enforcement of international arbitral awards; the drafting of international arbitration submissions; the sources of international commercial law; principles and case law of private international law, and remedies under international law. Jessup Moot students will consider topics relating to the way international disputes between states are litigated.


Written Assignment (Memoranda 1) (Group) 25%, Written Assignment (Memoranda 2) (Group) 25%, Presentation (Oral) 25%, Contribution to Group Written Assignment 10%, Teamwork (Peer Evaluation) 15%

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007