Students' gateway to Campus

Handbook 2012

School of Medicine Important Dates 2012

Please be aware that these dates are subject to change and may, as a result, be updated.

University opens for 2012 Tuesday 3 January
Australia Day - University closed Thursday 26 January
Labour Day - University remains open Monday 12 March
Good Friday - University closed Friday 6 April
Easter Monday - University closed Monday 9 April
Easter Tuesday - University closed Tuesday 10 April
ANZAC Day public holiday - University closed    Wednesday 25 April
Queen's Birthday - University remains open Monday 11 June
Melbourne Cup Day - University remains open Tuesday 6 November
University holiday - University closed
Monday 24 December 2012 -
Thursday 3 January 2013
University opens for 2013 Friday 4 January 2013

back to top

School of Medicine - enrolment and fee dates

Event Semester 1 Semester 2
International students - last day for commencing international students to withdraw from Semester and receive a 90% refund Sunday 1 January Sunday 3 June
Invoices available on StudentConnect Monday 13 February
(originally Monday 30 January)
Monday 11 June
International students - last day for continuing students to withdraw from Semester and receive a 100% refund Sunday 12 February   Sunday 15 July
Fees due Monday 12 March Sunday 12 August

Census date

International students

  • International fee-paying students - last day to withdraw from Semester and receive a 50% refund
  • International students must have finalised payment of first instalment of at least 50% of Semester fees

 Domestic students

  • Last day to withdraw from units, intermit from Semester or discontinue course without HECS-HELP/FEE-HELP liability
  • Last day for HECS-HELP and FEE-HELP students to make full or partial up front payments for Semester
  • Last day for Commonwealth supported students to submit online Commonwealth Assistance Form and/or provide their tax file number (TFN)  
  • FEE-HELP - last day for domestic fee-paying students to apply for FEE-HELP or pay fees up front for Semester

All students

  • Last day to withdraw from Semester units without reference on academic record
Saturday 31 March Friday 31 August
Last day to withdraw from Semester units with a Withdrawn Late (WL) listed on academic record Monday 9 April Monday 10 September
Commonwealth Assistance Notices for Semester released on StudentConnect Friday 27 April         Friday 28 September  
International students - final instalment of Semester fees due Monday 30 April  Sunday 30 September
Last day to withdraw from semester units with a Withdrawn Fail (WN) listed on academic record Friday 8 June Friday 9 November

back to top

Year 1 and 2 Medical Students

Event Semester 1 Semester 2
Teaching period begins Monday 30 January Monday 2 July
Mid-Semester break Friday 6 April - Friday 13 April    Monday 24 September - Friday 28 September  
Exam timetable released Monday 7 May Monday 8 October
Teaching period ends Friday 8 June Friday 9 November
SWOTVAC begins Monday 11 June Monday 12 November
Examination period begins   Monday 18 June Monday 19 November
Examination period ends Friday 22 June Friday 23 November
Vacation Monday 25 June - Friday 29 June Monday 26 Nov - to be confirmed
Results released Thursday 5 July, 6 pm Tuesday 18 December, 6pm
Reassessment period timetable released Thursday 5 July
Thursday 6 December
Reassessment period  Monday 23 - Friday 27 July
Monday 10 - Friday 14 December

back to top

Year 3 Medical Students

Event Date
Rotation 1 Monday 23 January - Friday 9 March
Rotation 2 (no Easter break)   Monday 12 March - Friday 27 April
Rotation 3 Monday 30 April - Friday 15 June
Exam timetable released Monday 7 May
Exams Friday 15 June - Friday 22 June
Vacation Monday 18 June - Friday 29 June
Results Released Thursday 5 July, 6 pm
Rotation 4 Monday 2 July - Friday 17 August
Rotation 5 Monday 20 August - Friday 5 October
Exam timetable released Monday 8 October
Rotation 6 Monday 8 October - Friday 23 November
Exams Monday 26 November - Friday 30 November
Results Released Tuesday 18 December, 6pm
Reassessment period timetable released Thursday 6 December
Reassessment period Monday 10 - Friday 14 December

back to top

Year 4 Medical Students

Event Date
Rotation 1 Monday 23 January - Friday 24 February
Rotation 2 Monday 27 February - Friday 30 March
Rotation 3 Monday 24 April - Thursday 5 April
Easter break Monday 25 April - Friday 29 April
Rotation 3 (continued) Monday 16 April - Friday 11 May
Exam timetable released    Monday 7 May
Rotation 4 Monday 14 May - Friday 15 June
Exams Friday 15 June - Friday 22 June
Vacation Monday 25 June - Friday 13 July
Results released Thursday 28 June, 6 pm
Reassessment period timetable release Thursday 28 June
Reassessment period
Monday 2 - Thursday 5 July
Selective / Elective 1 Monday 16 July - Friday 24 August
Selective / Elective 2 Monday 27 August - Friday 5 October
Selective / Elective 3 Monday 8 October - Friday 16 November
Graduation applications open for students completing
their degree at end of Semester
Monday 1 - Wednesday 31 October
Results released Thursday 29 November, 6 pm

back to top

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

10th December 2012