Administrative divisions

Planning and Integrity

Higher Education Standards Framework

The Higher Education Standards Framework consists of the following.

Threshold Standards – in effect Quality Assurance Standards – under development
Provider Registration Standards Teaching and Learning Standards
Provider Category Standards Research Standards
Provider Course Accreditation Standards Information Standards
Qualification Standards - requiring compliance with AQF requirements  

The Threshold Standards are legislative instruments. All higher education providers must meet them to maintain their registration.

For the latest information on the Standards, check the updates from Higher Education Standards Panel.

In 2012 Deakin conducted a desk review of compliance with each of the Threshold Standards. The outcomes of the evaluation were used to develop an action plan to improve practices and documentation.

AQF review

In 2012 the faculties conducted a comprehensive review of all courses to ensure that they comply with the AQF. Action Plans were developed and are being implemented to ensure that all students enrol in AQF compliant courses in 2015.

Guidelines (332 KB) have been developed to assist Faculties to implement their Action Plans.

See also:

Quality and integrity of assessment

The threshold stardards include important requirements relating to the quality and integrity of assessment. A new framework (165 KB) is now in place to strengthen Deakin's quality assurance processes in this important area.

Quick links

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

12th December 2013