Staff listing

Contact a Deakin School of Education staff member or read their profiles to learn more about their expertise, publications and awards.

School Leadership

Head of School
Alfred Deakin Professor Christine Ure

Deputy Head of School, Director (Professional Practice)
Associate Professor Dianne Toe

Associate Head of School, Teaching and Learning
Associate Professor Josephine Lang

Associate Head of School, International Partnerships
Associate Professor Indika Liyanage

Associate Head of School, Research
Associate Professor Louise Paatsch

Coordinator, Global Experience Program
Dr Emma Rowe

Higher Degree by Research Coordinator (Geelong Waurn Ponds)
Dr Amanda Mooney

Higher Degree by Research Coordinator (Melbourne Burwood)
Dr Andrew Skourdoumbis

Administrative staff

Administrative staff

School Manager
Jo Collins
Accreditation Project Coordinator
Immanuel Vyas
Senior School Administrative Officer
Debbie Routley
School Administrative Officer, Executive Assistant
Kelli O'Hern
School Administrative Officer
Joanne Zivillica
School Administrative Officer
Nicole Dashwood
Technical Officer
Dr Thanh (Nathan) Nguyen

Site Directors

Jess Lambden (Ringwood Alliance)
Katrina Broadhead (Surf Coast Alliance) 
Jeff Gillies (Warrnambool Alliance)
Joanne Henriksen (Northern Bay Alliance) 
Cara Johnson (Newcombe Alliance) 
Kelly Sirca (North Geelong Alliance) 
Amanda Peters (Mooroolbark Alliance)
Arna Pletes (Whitehorse Alliance)
Ellen Steele (Ashwood Alliance)
Shevonne Vass (Bellarine Alliance) 
Shevonne Vass (Werribee/Tarneit Alliance)
Helen Weston (Hallam and South East Alliance)

Professional Experience Team

Ian Trend
Campus Leader (Geelong/Warrnambool)
Rob Cherry 
Campus Leader (Melbourne Burwood)
Kerry Bennetto (Acting)
Debra Barber (Melbourne Burwood)
Donna Birks (Melbourne Burwood)
Michael Bolger (Melbourne Burwood) 
Alisha Brien (Geelong Waurn Ponds)
Alison Chittenden (Geelong Waurn Ponds)
Sarah Carter (Geelong Waurn Ponds)
Sandra Collinson (Melbourne Burwood) 
Kalya Nyo Denham (Geelong Waurn Ponds)
Alice Farrar (Melbourne Burwood) 
Tania Harvey (Geelong Waurn Ponds) 
Helen Mandeltort (Melbourne Burwood) 
Stacey Macreadie (Melbourne Burwood) 
Lauren Watson (Melbourne Burwood) 
Melissa Wray (Geelong Waurn Ponds)

Administration staff – centres

Manager of Educational Projects, REDI
Luke Cuttance 
Partnerships Development Coordinator
Dr Hang (Jason) Zheng 
Project Officer, REDI
Laura Daniele
Project Officer, REDI
Scott Lascelles 
Coordinator Projects and Adminstration
Kim Neilson 
Project Officer STEM
Barry Plant

Teach for Australia

Project Manager
Gabrielle England
Project Officer
Nicole Thomas
Master of Teaching (Secondary) TFA Course Director
Associate Professor Bernadette Walker-Gibbs
TFA Academic Coordinator
Dr Kate Johnstone

Academic staff


Associate Professors

Senior Lecturers


Associate Lecturers

Teach for Australia school academic mentors

Dr Angela Evangelinou-Yiannakis (WA)
Dr Gaelene Hope-Rowe (VIC)
Dr Lou Preston (ACT & VIC)
Mr Ray Messer (VIC)
Dr Joanne Winckle (TAS)

Affiliated staff

Research Fellows

Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow

Associate Research Fellow

Honorary appointments