Future students

Course search


Bachelor of Health Sciences

Return to course summary

Psychology - unit set code MJ-H000008

D391 Bachelor of Health Sciences/Bachelor of Arts students must enrol in unit set code MJ-AH00008


Burwood (Melbourne), Waurn Ponds (Geelong) and Warrnambool

Individual units may not be available on every campus. Also available in Cloud (online)


This sequence develops students′ understanding of a range of topics in psychology, which is the science concerned with unravelling questions about human behaviour and mental processes. This six unit major is not intended for the purpose of registration as a psychologist.


To obtain the six unit major students must complete HPS111 and HPS121 plus
Any two level 2 units from the list below.
Any two level 3 units (for which the prerequisite units have been completed) from the list below.


Students intending to become psychologists must complete four years of academic study (three years of undergraduate study, including ten units of psychology, plus either an Honours year or the Graduate Diploma of Psychology).


To obtain the ten unit undergraduate psychology sequence students must complete all the units listed below.

HPS111 Psychology A: Fundamentals of Human Behaviour  

HPS121 Psychology B: Individual and Social Development  

HPS201 Research Methods in Psychology A  

HPS202 Child and Adolescent Development  

HPS203 Understanding the Mind  

HPS204 Introduction to Social Psychology  

HPS205 Behavioural Neuroscience  

HPS301 Research Methods in Psychology B  

HPS307 Personality  

HPS308 Psychopathology  

Return to course summary

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007