Future students

Course search


Unit details

Return to previous page

ACM335 - Studio and Professional Photography

Enrolment modes:Trimester 2: Burwood (Melbourne)
Credit point(s):1
EFTSL value: 0.125
Unit chair:D Armstrong
Prerequisite:ACM203, ACM207

(Only available to students enrolled in Arts or Arts combined courses)

Incompatible with: ACM235
Note: Online teaching methods require internet access. You will need to access substantial learning resources and experiences in CloudDeakin (Deakin’s online learning environment). Compliance with the Standards in computing, connectivity and student capability are a condition on your enrolment.


In this unit students are shown how the Photographic Studio is a constructed and stylised space separate from the external found world. The studio offers a potential for synthetic visualization plus an element of experiential and professional practice not found in other units. From its origins of portrait painting, through the post-war period of creative advertising and arriving in the contemporary tableau and psycho-dramatic style, studio photography is a technical and artistic discipline for students with professional and creative aspirations.



Topics in this unit include:

  • The conventions of the portrait: formal, informal, experimental and nude.
  • Lighting set-ups
  • Lens and camera choice
  • Still-life and table-top techniques
  • Tableau and constructed space.
  • The found studio.
  • Genre recreation.


Lighting seminar 20%. 

Genre recreation and Research Paper 30%.
Major Production Assignment: 50%.

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007