Future students

Course search


Unit details

Return to previous page

ACP110 - The Paradox of the Actor

Enrolment modes:Trimester 2: Burwood (Melbourne)
Credit point(s):1
EFTSL value: 0.125
Cohort rule:(Only available to students enrolled in the Bachelor of Creative Arts (Drama))
Unit chair:L Morris


Incompatible with:


Note: Online teaching methods require internet access. You will need to access substantial learning resources and experiences in CloudDeakin (Deakin’s online learning environment). Compliance with the Standards in computing, connectivity and student capability are a condition on your enrolment.


This unit aims to address certain paradoxes which arise in the practice and theory of acting, particularly in the context of modern drama. Unit content proceeds from a consideration of Diderot’s definition of the paradox of the actor as one of double consciousness in that the actor must nightly express emotions while creating the illusion of spontaneity. Through practical seminars and seminars, students will explore theories of acting from key figures in the modern era, such as Stanislavski, Brecht, Benedetti and Schechner. Particular focus will be placed on questions of the boundaries between self and character, outside-in versus inside-out methods of constructing character, analysis of actor-training methods, comparison between Western and Eastern definitions and training of actors, and the differential demands of performance for stage and screen.


Practical exercises as assessed against stated criteria 50%, Seminar presentation of case study 1200 words 30%. Documentation, reflection and analysis in journal form 20%

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007