Future students

Course search


Unit details

Return to previous page

MPK732 - Marketing Management

Enrolment modes:Trimester 1: Burwood (Melbourne), Cloud (online)
Trimester 2: Burwood (Melbourne), Cloud (online)
Trimester 3: Burwood (Melbourne), Cloud (online)
Credit point(s):1
EFTSL value: 0.125
Previously coded as:MMK732
Unit chair:

N Robertson

Incompatible with:

MPR732, MPT732

Contact hours: 1 x 3 hour seminar per week

You will need to access substantial learning resources and experiences in CloudDeakin (Deakin’s online learning environment). Compliance with the Standards in computing, connectivity and student capability are a condition on your enrolment.



This unit is available in study tour mode. Click here for more information.


This unit examines the integrative nature of the marketing management process. Topics addressed include the marketing environment; marketing research; segmentation, targeting and positioning; consumer behaviour; pricing considerations and approaches; integrated marketing communications; product strategy and new product development; managing place; international marketing; marketing planning, implementation and control. The unit not only introduces participants to core marketing concepts and techniques, but also encourages the application of these within the context of participants' work environment.


Assessment 1 (individual) - Case study exercises x 2 - 25%

Assessment 2 (group- 2 students) - Blogging (2500 words) - 25%

Examination (2 hours) - 50%


Hurdle requirement: achieve at least 50% of the marks available on the examination

Unit Fee Information

Student Contribution Rate*Student Contribution Rate**Fee rate - Domestic Students Fee rate - International students

* Rate for all CSP students, except for those who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
** Rate for CSP students who commenced Education and Nursing units pre 2010
Please note: Unit fees listed do not apply to Deakin Prime students.

Return to previous page

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

8th June 2007