Bachelor of Occupational Therapy

Introduction on practice education

Practice Education is a major component of the Bachelor of Occupational Therapy degree. In order to satisfy the requirements of the degree each student much complete 1000 hours of work experience within the industry working with qualified occupational therapists.

This website is designed to provide information to current and future students, practice education agencies, and supervisors with easy access to information, policy and forms used in the Deakin University's Occupational Science and Therapy practice education program.

The student practice education manual provides help to students studying fieldwork. Please refer to the manual for important information, located under the Practice Education downloads link on the left hand menu.

Hand TherapyHelping someone to get back the functions of their hands will be something if you enrol in this course.

Contact us

If you are having any difficulties with regards to practice education, please seek assistance immediately to help resolve any issues that you may be facing. The Practice Education team consists Unit Chairs whose units contain a practice education component, Deakin Practice Education Supervisors, and Practice Education Administration.

Current Students and Agencies

Deakin University Occupational Science and Therapy Practice Education Staff

Heather Ring, Administrative Officer - Practice Education Placements
Location: D4.326.01, Waterfront Campus
Phone 03 5227 8643 Fax 03 5227 8371
Email heather.ring@deakin.edu.au

Kelli Nicola-Richmond - Practice Education Co-ordinator
Phone 03 5227 8418
Email k.nicolarichmond@deakin.edu.au

Deakin Practice Education Facilitators (DPEFs)

Pearse Fay
Phone: 5227 8322
Email pearsefay@deakin.edu.au

Danielle Hitch
Phone: 0406 932 734
Email dani.hitch@deakin.edu.au

Sue Harman (OWLs)
Phone: 5227 8205
Email sue.harman@deakin.edu.au

Tara Roberts (OWLs Co-ordinator)
Phone: 5227 8360
Email tara.roberts@deakin.edu.au

Nikki Lyons
Phone: 0419 511 442
Email nikki.lyons@deakin.edu.au

Johanne Walker
Phone: 5227 8333
Email johanne.walker@deakin.edu.au

Please note that DPEFs have requested that they be called during business hours ONLY (unless in an emergency when using their private mobile phone numbers

Units Chairs / Lecturers

Associate Professor Lynne Adamson
Course Coordinator
Phone 03 5227 8370 Fax 03 5227 8371
Email lynne.adamson@deakin.edu.au

Professor Karen Stagnitti
Phone 03 5227 8370
Email karen.stagnitti@deakin.edu.au

Michelle Courtney - Senior Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8370
Email michelle.courtney@deakin.edu.au

Genevieve Pepin - Senior Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8462
Email genevieve.pepin@deakin.edu.au

Helen Larkin - Senior Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8337
Email helen.larkin@deakin.edu.au

Chloe O'Connor - Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8572
Email chloe.oconnor@deakin.edu.au

Johanne Walker - Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8333
Email johanne.walker@deakin.edu.au

Kieva Richards - Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8079
Email kieva.richards@deakin.edu.au

Rachael Schmidt - Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 5227 8352
Email rachael.schmidt@deakin.edu.au

Pearse Fay - Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 52278322
Email pearse.fay@deakin.edu.au

Kelli Nicola-Richmond - Lecturer and Unit Chair
Phone 03 52278418
Email k.nicolarichmond@deakin.edu.au

Student Life

Deakin University's Student Life offers students a wide variety of services that include counselling, issues affecting study and motivation issues (http://www.deakin.edu.au/studentlife/)

Occupational Therapy Practice Education Downloads

Page custodian: Faculty of Health
Last updated:

Back to top