Faculty of Health

Why study Psychology at Deakin?

Deakin's School of Psychology is one of the largest in Australia, with teaching and research concentrations at the Melbourne, Geelong and Warrnambool Campuses. Our course investigates human thoughts, feelings and behaviours with the aims of promoting mental health and diagnosing and treating psychological dysfunctions. Areas covered at undergraduate level include psychopathology, personality and psychological assessment, social psychology, child/adolescent/life-span psychology, clinical and behavioural neuroscience and cognitive psychology.

1. All of our courses are accredited by the Australian Psychological Society and recognised for registration purposes by the Psychology Board of Australia (PBA).

2. Our curriculum is informed by knowledge from the biomedical, social, and cognitive sciences.

3. Our teaching and learning integrates traditional face-to-face teaching with online methods. The emphasis is on flexible delivery and meeting the needs of students.

4. Students can choose to study any of our subjects on campus or off campus.

5. Our psychology major can be combined with numerous other majors, and even taken as part of another degree such as a Bachelor of Health Sciences or Bachelor of Arts.

6. Students can choose to specialise in a field of psychology and work in a variety of different settings including clinical, forensic, business, education, health, sport, and many others.
Career opportunities
  • Careers Counsellor
  • Child Protection Officer
  • Clinical Psychologist
  • Community Development Worker
  • Family/Relationship Counsellor
  • Forensic Psychologist
  • Health Psychologist
  • Market Researcher
  • Mental Health Rehabilitation
  • Organisational Psychologist
  • Psychiatric Rehabilitation
  • Sport Psychologist
  • Welfare Worker
  • Work/Life Counsellor
    *Note: some of these roles require completion of postgraduate qualifications and other professional requirements.
Deakin graduate employers

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

19th July 2011