search box News

Success at VicHealth 2013 Awards

The Centre for Physical Activity and Nutrition Research (C-PAN) had great success at the 2013 Victorian Health Promotion Foundation (VicHealth) Awards held on Tuesday 3 December. C-PAN were finalists in two of the nine award categories, and won one of the awards.

Professor Kylie Ball, Professor David Crawford and Dr Sarah McNaughton, in partnership with the National Heart Foundation and Coles Supermarkets, received the VicHealth award for Promoting Healthy Eating. The award was presented by the Minister for Health, the Hon David Davis.

In addition, Professor Tony Worsley was a member of a team led by RMIT that was a finalist for the VicHealth award for Preventing Harm from Alcohol.

Website containing more information on Success at VicHealth 2013 Awards

2014 Medical School Oration

Deakin University invites you to the 2014 School of Medicine Oration

The 2014 School of Medicine Oration 'How to live a long and healthy life' will be held on Monday 17 November at the Geelong Clinical School lecture theatre, Ryrie Street, Geelong. (Entry via Kitchener House.)

Professor Ian Frazer AC, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Director of Research of the Translational Research Institute (TRI) in Brisbane, will be speaking.

Professor Frazer was awarded the 2005 CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science and was selected as Queenslander of the Year, and Australian of the Year in 2006. He was also awarded the 2008 Prime Minister’s Prize for Science, the 2008 Balzan Prize for Preventive Medicine, the 2009 Honda Prize and was recently elected as a Fellow of the esteemed Royal Society of London. In 2012, Professor Frazer was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia (AC) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours.

The event will begin at 5.30 pm for refreshments, with the oration commencing at 6.00 pm.

Entry is Free.

Register: Online at

Website containing more information on 2014 Medical School Oration
More information about 2014 Medical School Oration(197 KB)

Award winning teachers!

The Minister for Education has announced the Australian Government’s Office for Learning and Teaching citations for outstanding contributions to student learning.

A huge congratulations goes to Ms Hannah Bereznicki, Ms Sharon Horwood and Dr Wendy Sutherland-Smith from the School of Psychology, Faculty of Health for the following citation:

'For excellence in developing a suite of innovative and dynamic assessment strategies that fosters independent learning among large cohorts of first-year psychology students.'

View News and Events archive

Back to top