School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences

Student Achievements

3 Minute Thesis competition

Congratulations to Christopher Brandner and Kim Anderson who were successful in representing the School at the Faculty of Health final of the Deakin 3 Minute Thesis competition. The 2012 competition was held over two heats, attracting 18 contestants who all displayed excellent styles of communication. Well done also to Christopher Brandner and Jacqueline Tran for winning the People's Choice award in heat 1 and heat 2 respectively.

The 3MT competition is open to any student enrolled in a PhD, DPsych or research masters program at Deakin. The idea is that students develop academic and research communication skills by presenting their thesis topic in three minutes in a compelling way, using language appropriate to an intelligent but non expert audience.

3MT 2012

2012 Student Award and Prizes

The School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences held its annual Student Awards and Prizes evening to celebrate the academic excellence of our students in 2011. The evening which is attended by students, family members staff and Industry sponsors is a great opportunity to showcase our talented students from across all campuses. Congratulations to all award recipients.

Award recipient 1 2012 Exercise and Sport Science Australia Award

Physical Activity Australia Award

(top left) Rachel Frame receiving the AFL David Parkin Award for Coach Development
(top right) Pete Venticich receiving the 2012 Exercise and Sport Science Australia Award
(bottom) Shannon Hunkin receiving the Physical Activity Australia Award

Graduation Ceremony 2012

It was very pleasing that this year at the Graduation ceremony three of our students received University awards.

  • Trina Hinkley received the Alfred Deakin Medal for the best doctoral thesis.
  • Jason Gardner (Exercise and Sports Science (Hons)) received the Vice Chancellor's Prize.
  • Jasmine Everist (Food Science and Nutrition) received an Alfred Deakin Medal.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

14th June 2012