School of Life and Environmental Sciences staff

Professor John Donald
Deputy Head of School

Associate Professor Jan West
Associate Head of School (Teaching and Learning)

Dr Xavier Conlan
Associate Head of School (Academic Programs and Student Experience)

Dr Lambert Brau
Associate Head of School (Development and International)

Associate Professor Giovanni Turchini
Associate Head of School (Research and Warrnambool)


Name Position
Prof Leigh Ackland Personal Chair
Prof Neil Barnett Personal Chair
Prof Colin Barrow Chair in Biotechnology
Prof Andy T.D. Bennett Chair in Life and Environmental Sciences
Prof David Cahill Associate Dean (Research)
Prof John Endler Alfred Deakin Professor
Prof Graeme Hays Chair in Marine Science
Prof Marcel Klaassen Director, Centre for Integrative Ecology
Prof Julian Mercer Emeritus Professor
Prof Gerry Quinn Professor

Associate Professors

Name Position
Assoc Prof John Arnould Associate Professor
Assoc Prof Peter Beech Associate Professor
Assoc Prof Peter Biro Associate Professor in Behavioural Ecology
Assoc Prof Kate Buchanan Associate Professor
Assoc Prof Paul Francis ARC Future Fellow
Assoc Prof Kieran Lim Associate Professor
Assoc Prof Cenk Suphioglu Associate Professor of Biomedical Science
Assoc Prof Laurie Laurenson Associate Professor
Assoc Prof Geoff Wescott Associate Professor
Assoc Prof John White Associate Professor

Senior Lecturers

Name Position
Dr Luis Afonso Senior Lecturer in Marine Sciences
Dr Alecia Bellgrove Senior Lecturer
Dr Steve Cheung Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Science
Dr Raylene Cooke Senior Lecturer
Dr Bernhard Dichtl Senior Lecturer
Dr David FrancisSenior Lecturer in Aquaculture Nutrition
Mr Ken Gawne Senior Lecturer in Occupational Hygiene
Dr Maria Gibson Senior Lecturer
Dr Michelle Harvey Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science
Dr Daniel Ierodiaconou Senior Lecturer in Aquatic Spatial
Dr Kimberley James Senior Lecturer
Dr Paul Jones Senior Lecturer
Dr Sharon La Fontaine Senior Lecturer
Dr Rebecca Lester Senior Lecturer
Dr Stuart Linton Senior Lecturer
Dr Ty Matthews Senior Lecturer
Dr Janine McBurnie Senior Lecturer
Dr Kelly Miller Senior Lecturer
Dr Julie Mondon Senior Lecturer
Dr Morley Muralitharan Senior Lecturer
Dr Emily NicholsonSenior Lecturer in Quantitative Ecology
Dr Frederick Pfeffer Senior Lecturer
Dr Euan Ritchie Senior Lecturer
Dr Craig Sherman Senior Lecturer
Dr Matt SymondsSenior Lecturer in Ecology
Dr Anneke Veenstra Senior Lecturer
Dr Anne Wallis Senior Lecturer
Dr Mark Warne Senior Lecturer
Dr Michael Weston Senior Lecturer


Name Position
Dr Belinda Appleton Lecturer in Biological Sciences
Miss Clare Binek Casual Academic
Miss Melissa Cameron Associate Lecturer of Physiology
Dr Damien Callahan Lecturer in Chemistry
Dr Michael CaterLecturer in Molecular Genetics
Dr Kerry FansonLecturer in Zoology
Miss Jillian HealyTeaching Scholar, Biomedical Science
Dr Chris Lim Lecturer in Biomedical Science
Mr Alan Mainwaring Associate Lecturer
Dr Lynda O'SullivanLecturer in Physiology
Dr Adam PopeLecturer in Marine Science
Dr Jim Rookes Lecturer in Biological Sciences
Dr Angel TorrieroTeaching Scholar, Chemistry
Dr Trevor Thornton Lecturer
Dr Sanja Van Huet Lecturer
Dr Liz Weldon Lecturer in Earth Sciences
Dr Patricia WevillTeaching Scholar, Environmental Science
Dr Desley Whisson Lecturer

Research Fellows

Name Position
Dr Jacqui Adcock ARC DECRA Research Fellow
Dr Dominic AgyeiAlfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Trent Ashton Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Jan Barton Research Academic
Dr Alastair Baylis Associate Research Fellow in Marine Science
Dr Christa Beckmann Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Fellow
Dr Mathew Berg Research Fellow in Avian Sensory Ecology
Dr Vincent Careau Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Miss Gemma ColeResearch Assistant
Dr Andrea CrinoResearch Fellow
Dr Shaun Cunningham Research Fellow
Dr Egan Doeven Associate Research Fellow
Dr Benjamin Fanson Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Luke Henderson Senior Research Fellow in Materials Chemistry
Dr Alastair Hirst Research Fellow
Dr Greg Holland Research Fellow
Dr Bethany Hoye (Maternity Leave) Research Fellow (Grade 2)
Dr Hashmath Hussain Associate Research Fellow
Dr Ming KalanonResearch Fellow (Grade 2)
Dr Ben Knott Research Fellow in Avian Vision (Grade 2)
Ms Xandy KranzAssociate Research Fellow
Dr Patricia Lee Senior Associate Research Fellow in Marine Science
Dr Sangmin Lee Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Ms Tara Lewis Associate Research Fellow
Dr Roxana Llanos Research Fellow
Dr Peter Macreadie Honorary Fellow
Dr Mylene Mariette Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Dale Nimmo Research Fellow (Aquaculture/Ecology/Environmental Science)
Dr Fernando Norambuena Senior Associate Research Fellow in Aquaculture Biochemistry
Dr Nicholas Porch ARC DECRA Fellow
Dr Munish Puri Senior Research Fellow
Dr Raoul Ribot Research Fellow
Mr Mark RichardsonAssociate Research Fellow
Dr Lee Ann Rollins Research Fellow
Dr Alexandre Schimel Research Fellow (Grade 2)
Dr Gail SchofieldAlfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Aaron Schultz Research Fellow (Biomedical/Biological Science)
Miss Zoe SmithAssociate Research Fellow
Dr Paul Stevenson Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Philip Taylor Research Fellow (Grade 2)
Dr Beata Ujvari Senior Research Fellow
Dr Wenrong YangSenior Research Fellow (Biotechnology/Chemistry)
Ms Mary Young Research Fellow

Administration staff

Name Position
Mrs Heather Andrews Professional Practice Placements Coordinator
Ms Alison BlakeAdministration Officer (until Aug 2015)
Ms Gail Fazakerley Administrative Officer
Ms Natalie Gallagher Professional Practice Placements Coordinator (until Aug 2015)
Ms Laura Harman Finance Officer
Ms Jimena Harrington Administrative Officer
Ms Natasha Kaukov Project Officer
Ms Janelle Pearce Administration Officer
Ms Georgina Power Senior School Administrator
Ms Rachel Shanahan Personal Assistant to Prof Colin Barrow
Mrs Vilma Simbag Project Manager
Ms Trina Viccars Project Officer

Technical staff

Name Position
Ms Maria Amodio Technical Services Coordinator
Ms Rachel Becker Technical Officer
Mr Sean Blake Senior Marine Technical Officer
Ms Jessica Bywater Technical Officer
Mr Andrew Cerasuolo General Casual (IT and Technical Support)
Ms Sarah Chandley Technical Services Coordinator
Mr Bob CollinsTechnical Manager Aquarium
Dr Dave Donaldson Technical Officer
Dr Tara DraperTechnical Officer
Ms Gail Dyson Manager, NMR Spectroscopy Facility
Ms Mahala Ebery Technical Officer
Ms Leanne Fitton Technical Officer
Ms Jules Frederiksen Technical Officer
Ms Rebecca Gray Technical Officer
Dr Karen Hermon Fish Nutrition Technical Officer
Dr Michelle Herpich Laboratory Coordinator
Ms Kate Hill Laboratory Coordinator
Mr Michael Holmes Technical Services Manager
Ms Jane Hosking Technical Officer
Mr Cuong Huynh Senior Technical Officer
Mr Higo Jasser Senior Technical Officer
Mr Alex Kehridakis Technical Officer
Ms Loveleen Kumar Senior Technical Officer
Dr Stella Loke Senior Technical Officer
Mr Leon Meggs Laboratory Coordinator
Mr David Mills Technical Services Manager
Ms Linda Moon Technical Officer
Mr Sam Parry Technical Officer
Ms Sharon Rowe Technical Officer
Mr Timothy Sanders Technical Services Manager
Ms Jessica Saw Senior Technical Officer
Ms Clorinda Schofield Technical Services Coordinator
Mrs Kate Sherwell Senior Technical Officer
Dr Bernadette Sinclair Technical Officer
Ms Priti Singh (Maternity Leave) Fish Research Technician
Dr Teo Slezak (on secondment) Technical Officer
Mr Thomas Schneider Technical Officer
Mr Khanh Tran Senior Technical Officer
Ms Dallas Windmill Senior Technical Officer
Ms Celine (Caryal) Yap Technical Assistant
Page custodian: Faculty of Science, Engineering & Built Environment
Last updated: