National recognition for outstanding Deakin lecturers

7 July 2010

Seven Deakin University staff members have received national recognition for their outstanding contributions to student learning in the Australian Learning and Teaching Council (ALTC) 2010 Citation awards.

Dr Debra Bateman, Mr Paul Bethell, Associate Professor Malcolm Campbell, Associate Professor Kieran Lim, Ms Berni Murphy and Ms Jo Raphael from the University’s Melbourne Campus at Burwood and Associate Professor Julie Cassidy from the Geelong Campus at Waurn Ponds have been selected to receive citations.

Valued at $10,000 each, the Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning recognise “sustained dedication to improving the quality of the student learning experience”.

Deakin University’s Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor Philip Clarke, said that this was a brilliant result that highlighted the breadth of outstanding teaching and learning at the University.

“Deakin’s 2010 Citation recipients span the University’s four Faculties and represent a diverse range of disciplines including Education, Public Health and Health Promotion, Law, Journalism, Chemistry and IT,” Professor Clarke said.

“In addition to being a great achievement for the individual staff members involved, the citations testify to the widespread teaching and learning excellence to be found at Deakin University.”

The details of the citations are:

  • Dr Debra Bateman – School of Education
    For the sustained use of highly innovative and imaginative pedagogies and curriculum, and leading-edge design of learning spaces that significantly enhance student learning.
  • Mr Paul Bethell – School of Communication and Creative Arts
    For engaging and creative teaching strategies that take the newsroom into the classroom and build a bridge between the academy and industry for journalism students.
  • Associate Professor Malcolm Campbell – School of Information Technology
    For sustained and inspirational leadership of teaching and learning across an institution.
  • Associate Professor Julie Cassidy – School of Law
    For pioneering innovative and engaging teaching methodologies and technologies to support inclusive experiential learning that facilitates practical legal skills development and promotes inter-cultural competencies.
  • Associate Professor Kieran Lim – School of Life and Environmental Sciences
    For the development of curriculum and learning resources, which encourage, empower and engage chemistry students.
  • Ms Berni Murphy – School of Health and Social Development
    For inspiring students in Public Health and Health Promotion through innovative and highly engaging approaches, and a strong command of the field.
  • Ms Jo Raphael – School of Education
    For creative approaches to providing relevant, authentic and student-centred learning experiences that inspire education students to become effective and reflective future educators.

The Deakin recipients will receive their Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning at an award ceremony in early August.

News facts
  • Citations for outstanding contributions to student learning awarded to Deakin staff
  • Recipients span four Faculties
  • Highlights the breadth of outstanding teaching and learning at Deakin

Media contact

Vanessa Barber
Deakin Media Relations
03 5227 1301; 0488 292 644

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

7th July 2010