Deakin to award four honorary doctorates

27 April 2010

Four honorary doctorates will be awarded at Deakin University’s Graduation Ceremonies.

At the Melbourne ceremonies (Tuesday 27 April) Victoria’s former Premier and inaugural Chair of the Deakin Foundation, the Honorable Stephen Bracks will be awarded the degree of Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) in recognition of distinguished services to the Victorian community.

Dr Yusuf Qismullah will be conferred with the degree of Doctor of Letters (honoris causa) at the Melbourne ceremony (Thursday 29 April) for distinguished services to education, the humanitarian  effort, and reconstruction in Aceh.

At the afternoon ceremony on the same day, Emeritus Professor Adrian Lee will be conferred with the degree of Doctor of Science (honoris causa) in recognition for his world leading research in microbiology and his significant role in the improvement of the quality of teaching and learning.

In Geelong (Thursday, 6 May) Deakin University’s Vice-Chancellor Professor Sally Walker will be conferred with the Doctor of Laws (honoris causa)  in recognition of her distinguished contribution to Deakin University, legal education and scholarship and higher education in general.

Additional information

Steve Bracks

Dr Yusuf Qismullah

Emeritus Professor Adrian Lee

Professor Sally Walker

News facts
  • Four honorary doctorates to be awarded
  • Former Victorian Premier among recipients

Media contact

Sandra Kingston
Deakin Media Relations
0422 005 485

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

27th April 2010