Top teaching awards for Deakin University staff

20 September 2012

Six Deakin University staff have been honoured for enriching the learning experiences of their students in the Australian Government’s annual university teaching awards.

The prestigious Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning (part of the Australian Awards for University Teaching) were announced by the Minister for Tertiary Education, Senator Chris Evans this week. The Deakin staff honoured with a Citation Award are: Dr Jaclyn Broadbent, Associate Professor Julie Considine, Dr Tony Joel, Ms Bronwyn Kirby, Dr Tess Knight and Dr Lynn Riddell.

Deakin’s Acting Vice-Chancellor, Professor Lee Astheimer, congratulated the Deakin staff members, saying receiving these awards was a reflection of the quality of teaching taking place at Deakin.

“We are a university where teaching excellence is valued highly. The success of six of our most inspiring and dedicated teachers in being recognised nationally for their outstanding contribution to student learning is a real cause for celebration,” Professor Astheimer said.

“The awards are a wonderful opportunity to celebrate teaching excellence and to showcase some of the innovative teaching that is taking place at Deakin. The winners are truly inspirational, having achieved many leading innovations of sector-wide significance.”

The Deakin staff are among 152 university academics and professional staff recognised for developing innovative programs, including new teaching models, to improve student experiences and learning.

Details of each staff member’s award are included below:

Ms Bronwyn Kirby, School of Communication and Creative Arts
For authentic teaching strategies that engage and prepare students to transition with confidence from the public relations classroom to the professional workplace

Dr Tess Knight, School of Psychology
For empowering self-reflective and independent learning: informing perspectival appreciations on ageing, and future counselling roles

Dr Lynn Riddell, School of Exercise and Nutrition Sciences
For leadership that has made a sustained positive contribution to developing professional competencies and advancing career outcomes for students in food and nutrition

Dr Jaclyn Broadbent, School of Psychology
For the sustained creation of motivating and inspiring learning environments for over 1600 students in a compulsory, multi-modal subject

Associate Professor Julie Considine, School of Nursing and Midwifery
For commitment to a teaching-evidence-practice nexus in specialist and advanced nursing courses to develop clinical excellence and enhanced quality and safety of healthcare

Dr Tony Joel, School of Humanities and Social Sciences
For creating challenging learning environments that motivate and inspire history students to explore how the past continues to shape the world in which we live

News facts
  • Six staff honoured in annual national teaching awards
  • Staff recognised for developing innovative programs, including new teaching models, to improve student experiences and learning

Media contact

Mandi O'Garretty
Deakin Media Relations
03 5227 2776; 0418 361 890

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

4th October 2012