Deakin University wins nine Carrick Institute citations

Nine Deakin University staff members have been awarded Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning at the 2007 Carrick Australian Awards for University Teaching*.

Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning are highly competitive and involve an intensive selection process to assess the achievements of applicants.

A Citation recognises and rewards the diverse contributions that individuals and teams make to the quality of student learning.

The Carrick Citations are granted to people who have made a significant contribution to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period, whether they are academic staff, general staff, sessional staff or institutional associates.

People who are awarded Carrick Citations are widely recognised for their achievements within the nominating institution and have received strong institutional endorsement.

Nine nominees from Deakin University were selected to receive Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning. The successful nominees are:

* Dr Rodney Carr
* Dr Raylene Cooke
* Professor David Crawford
* Ms Jan Fermelis
* Dr Maria Gibson
* Dr Dale Holt
* Dr Katrina Mandy Oakham
* Dr Richard Tucker
* Associate Professor Greg Wood

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Sally Walker, and the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), Professor John Rosenberg, warmly congratulate these outstanding staff and thank them for their continuing contributions to student learning at Deakin.

* The Carrick Awards are now called the Australian Learning and Teaching Council awards.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

15th May 2008