eSecurity scholarship winners

Three Deakin University information technology students have been awarded SECIA (eSecurity Innovation and Awareness) scholarships.

Dinithi Pallegedara, currently studying a Bachelor of Information Technology (Computer Science and Software Development) and Longxiang Gao, studying a Bachelor of Information Technology (IT Security), each received $1000 for their undergraduate scholarships. James Lambeth, studying a Bachelor of Information Technology (IT Security) and currently completing honours, was awarded an honours scholarship and received $3000.

SECIA is a collaborative cluster that aims to nurture and promote the awareness and use of innovative eSecurity and security technologies. It awards scholarships to top performers studying IT security at university, to ensure graduates from these programs are encouraged and well placed to obtain top jobs in the IT security industry after graduation.

The scholarships were presented by Tony Lupton MP (Cabinet Secretary) at a morning tea held recently in Melbourne. This is the third year that SECIA has presented awards, with seven students from three Victorian universities receiving scholarships.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

22nd July 2009