About Midwifery

The midwife is recognised as a responsible and accountable professional who works in partnership with women to give the necessary support, care and advice during pregnancy, labour and birth and the postnatal period. Midwives care for the woman, her newborn and family, by providing health education and promotion as well as clinical care. This work involves education in pregnancy, preparation for parenthood and may extend to women's health, sexual or reproductive health and child health. A midwife may practise in various settings including the home, community, hospitals, clinics or birth centres.

An accredited course in midwifery must be completed in order to be register and be legally licensed to practise as a midwife.

Courses in Midwifery

Bachelor of Nursing/Bachelor of Midwifery D355
On successful completion of this combined course, students will be eligible to register for practice as a 'nurse' and as a 'midwife' with the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia.

Graduate Diploma of Midwifery H676
The Graduate Diploma of Midwifery is designed for registered nurses seeking registration as a midwife. They are required to successfully complete the sequence of core units of study (equivalent to six credit points) and elective units (equivalent to 2 credit points) and equivalent of a total of eight credit points. A program of study is available within the core units of the Graduate Diploma of Midwifery (equivalent to 4 credit points) for those who seek re-recognition of their qualification of midwifery following a lapse. These students are required to make contact with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency ("AHPRA") through the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia ("NMBA") related to their specific requirements in seeking re-recognition of the qualification of midwife.

Clinical Practicum

The Graduate Diploma of Midwifery has been designed to incorporate clinical learning opportunities and supervised part-time employment arrangements within a variety of maternity services settings. Students are usually employed within a collaborating hospital to support and provide clinical learning experiences required for the course. Where concurrent employment is not possible, clinical practicum may be negotiated. There are clinical hours that must be completed independently of the supervised employment component, for example, community experiences. Following successful completion of 8 credit points of study and all practice requirements of the Graduate Diploma of Midwifery, students are eligible to apply to AHPRA, through the NMBA, for registration as a midwife.

Registered nurses or those, who have previously completed a Bachelor of Midwifery, seeking re-recognition of their qualification as a midwife, may undertake a 'midwifery return to practice' program of study (exit at 4 credit points). These applicants are required to make their own arrangements in maternity services to support them in meeting practice requirements of the program and those required by AHPRA. A letter is to be obtained from AHPRA by the applicant in regard to the course requirements and is to be given to Deakin University. Students are eligible to make an application to AHPRA, through the NMBA following successful completion of academic (equivalent to 4 credit points) and practice requirements.

For the Graduate Diploma of Midwifery (8 credit points) and the exit option for those who are required to complete a program of study such as the 'midwifery return to practice' (4 credit points), the theoretical and clinical components of the assessment for each unit must be passed in order to successfully gain an overall pass. Compulsory hurdles form part of the assessment for competency. Recognition of the importance of assessment for competency is calculated in the overall student workload. Failure of a compulsory practicum in a unit will normally lead to exclusion from the course.

Find out more

Australian College of Midwives (ACM)
Information includes the 'Code of Practice for Midwives' and other documents related to practice.

International Confederation of Midwives (ICM)
Information includes meetings, congresses and publications.

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia (NMBA)
Information includes the 'Code of Practice for Midwives' and 'National Competency Standards for the Midwife.

Page custodian: Faculty of Health
Last updated: