Research Services news

Three Minute Thesis

Award winners from last year Rebecca Lindberg, Kim Anderson and Gayathri Devi Rajmohan.
Thu, 17 Jul 2014 12:10:00 +1000
Audience required for the final on Tuesday 12th August.

Opportunity to join the fellowship

2013 Alfred Deakin Research Fellow Clifford Liongue is using zebra fish to study lymphoma.
Tue, 29 Apr 2014 15:31:00 +1000
New round of Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Research Fellowships now open.

Researcher in Profile

Liz Eckermann with villagers in Attepeu (Lao PDR)
Mon, 11 Jul 2011 15:11:00 +1000
Associate Professor Liz Eckermann looks back - and forward.

Should there be limits on the tenure of bank CEOs?

Three minute thesis logo
Mon, 11 Jul 2011 11:19:00 +1000
That's the question being posed - and answered - by Deakin's Three Minute Thesis winner, Toni Aburime.

Major Birds Australia prize to Christine Connelly

Eastern Yellow Robin
Mon, 11 Jul 2011 09:19:00 +1000
PhD student wins Professor Allen Keast Research Award.

Finally, the story of East Gippsland's forgotten hero

Three Minute Thesis logo
Mon, 04 Jul 2011 14:22:00 +1000
Alfred Howitt will finally have his life up in lights when Deakin University PhD candidate Jenny Herbert competes in the Three Minute Thesis competition final.

Moving with the times

Mon, 27 Jun 2011 09:32:00 +1000
The OzBot™ makes the frontline safer for Australian soldiers!

Bamboo research a catalyst for change!

Tanya Ha from Catalyst (left) with Tarannum Afrin
Fri, 24 Jun 2011 09:40:00 +1000
Deakin University PhD student Tarannum Afrin on ABC1's Catalyst

Supporting meaningful development in the Pacific

Signing the agreement
Wed, 22 Jun 2011 12:38:00 +1000
Alfred Deakin Research Institute and Sustineo enter partnership to ensure future growth.

Evaluating stress in the workplace

Stress free symbol
Mon, 20 Jun 2011 15:40:00 +1000
New project aims to trial the development of comprehensive prevention initiatives.

Most takeovers benefit shareholders

Dr Harminder Singh
Mon, 20 Jun 2011 11:44:00 +1000
They play a key role in ensuring management teams operate efficiently, says Dr Harminder Singh.

High voltage!

Bon Scott (left) and Dr Lucas Ihlein
Mon, 20 Jun 2011 11:15:00 +1000
Dr Lucas Ihlein wins Alfred Deakin Medal.

How Deakin is helping Geelong win the flag

Joel Selwood
Mon, 20 Jun 2011 11:00:00 +1000
Joel Selwood just one Cat helped by Dr Paul Gastin's team of sports scientists.

The Rise of China

Former US President George W Bush and Former Australian Prime Minister, Mr John Howard
Wed, 15 Jun 2011 15:12:00 +1000
Mr John Howard heads up a glittering array of speakers who will attend a symposium sponsored by the Australian-American Fulbright Commission and organised by Deakin University.

Deadly Healthcare

Cover of Deaddly Healthcare
Wed, 15 Jun 2011 11:56:00 +1000
New book provides detailed analysis of modern health care systems and factors associated with the case of Australia's 'Dr Death', Jayant Patel.

Top award to Dr Tania de Koning-Ward

Dr Tania de Koning-Ward
Mon, 13 Jun 2011 16:46:00 +1000
Deakin researcher wins Commonwealth Health Minister's Medal.

Positive move

Dr Lana Williams
Mon, 13 Jun 2011 13:32:00 +1000
Award winning researcher Dr Lana Williams excited by shift to Deakin.

Go on, give society a break and be happy!

Dr Cahit Guven
Mon, 13 Jun 2011 12:14:00 +1000
But not too happy, says Deakin economist Dr Cahit Guven.

Back to the future!

Alex Kountouris (left) with Brett Lee
Thu, 09 Jun 2011 15:38:00 +1000
New information on injuries for fast bowlers

'Democratizing Health'

Professor Evelyne de Leeuw
Thu, 09 Jun 2011 14:35:00 +1000
New book examines the important role of consumer activism in policy in different national contexts.

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

21st February 2011