Coursework units

As part of the PhD Xtra program you are required to complete a minimum of one unit of coursework. Some academic units require more than one as each academic unit has different requirements for coursework described below.

For most areas, the required unit/s will be finalised by the academic unit prior to any offer of candidature. In the case of the Faculty of Health, the unit will normally be determined early in your candidature.

No additional fees will be charged for coursework units listed below undertaken at Deakin.

Faculty of Arts and Education/Institute of Koorie Education

All students must complete the following unit:

Faculty of Business and Law compulsory units

All students must complete all of the units specified for their department or school:

Department of Accounting, Department of Management, Department of Marketing, Department Info Systems/Business Analytics:

Department of Economics:

Department of Finance:

Deakin Law School:

Faculty of Health

Please contact your supervisors and school HDR coordinator to select the appropriate unit, and who will advise the Faculty to enroll you into the unit. All students in the Faculty of Health must complete at least one unit from a selection of core units:

Faculty of Science, Engineering and Built Environment/Institute for Frontier Materials/Institute for Intelligent Systems Research and Innovation

All students must complete the following unit: