Deakin Research

Deakin Research

NHMRC Career Development Fellowships (Level 2) for funding in 2015

Funding Body

National Health Medical Research Council

Scheme/ Round

Career Development Fellowships Level 2 2015


This scheme aims to further develop Australian health and medical researchers early in their career. It will enable investigators to establish themselves as independent, self-directed researchers; expand capacity for biomedical, clinical, public health and health service delivery research, and for evidence-based policy development in Australian health systems; and encourage the translation of research outcomes into practice.

CDF Level 2 is usually for those who are 7-12 years post-PhD. Last year, the funding rules stipulated that those who have been appointed to a Professorial position are ineligible to apply for either level of CDF.


Internal Deadlines

13 Nov 2013 Nomination form Mandatory Via email to

22 Jan 2014

Applications Open on RGMS



26 Feb 2014

Final application on RGMS & certification forms


Email snapshot reports & all uploaded documents to


How to Apply

1. Submit a nomination form

2. Liaise with your Faculty/Institute

3. Read the Funding Rules and Instructions to Applicants

4. Commence your online application on RGMS

5. Work with your Case Manager

6. Organise relevant certification forms


NHMRC documents - 2014 documents - current round not available as at September 2013

To assist with the preparation of your application for Faculty/Institute review, the following templates (downloaded from RGMS) may be used. Please note that the exact format of the 2015 NHMRC Career Development Fellowship applications will not be known until applications open on RGMS (22 January 2014).

  • Part A - applicable to all NHMRC Schemes
  • Part B - specific to Research Fellowships
  • CV - a word template is available, however it is advisable that you complete/update your CV and profile online via RGMS.

DU Templates & Forms

Other Important Information

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

15th January 2014