Deakin Research

Institute for Frontier Materials

print
 

Process takes textile recycling to new level

A new process to separate blends of cotton-polyester material provides a major breakthrough for recycling textile and other waste.

A solution to pollution?

Bio-plastics could help slash global plastic consumption.

Small fibres bring big opportunities

A 'Skilling the Bay' $500,000 grant will help Geelong tap into the rapidly growing nanofibre market.

Working together

New partnership between Deakin and Geelong manufacturers.

Our People

Lead Investigator

An image of Associate Professor Mark Kirkland Associate Professor Mark Kirkland
Theme Leader

Senior Research Fellow

An image of Dr Cynthia Wong Dr Cynthia Wong
Senior Research Fellow

Research Fellows

Name Research Topic Contact
Dr Alessandra Sutti
Research Fellow
Nanofibres and nanofibre technologies; hydrogels; scaffold engineering for cell culture; filtration alessandra.sutti@deakin.edu.au
Dr Marzieh Parhizkar
Associate Research Fellow
Nanofibres and nanofibre technologies; scaffold engineering for cell culture; filtration marzieh.parhizkar@deakin.edu.au
Dr Julie Sharp
Associate Research Fellow
Cell culture; bioassays julie.sharp@deakin.edu.au
Ms Christina Kirkland
Associate Research Fellow
Cell culture; bioassays c.kirkland@deakin.edu.au
Dr Teo Slezak
Associate Research Fellow
Nanofibres and nanofibre technologies t.slezak@deakin.edu.au

Students

Name Research Topic Contact
Magenta Diana Perus Enzymes; nanofibres mperus@deakin.edu.au
Nishat Sharma Enzyme immobilisation and assays nishat@deakin.edu.au
Saeed Davdar Silk nanofibres for cell culture avahidgo@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

3rd March 2014