Skip to main content

Deakin Research

Institute for Frontier Materials

print
 

Stem cell growth - in the bag

An innovative 'closed system' for growing stem cells offers new hope for leukaemia patients.

High tech nanofibre deal for Deakin

A joint venture will provide a world-first short nanofibre manufacturing capability in Geelong.

Short nanofibre gets a gong

A world first technology platform has received a Victorian Engineering Excellence Award.

Novel approach to cancer treatment looks promising

Chemists develop a new range of cancer therapeutics.

Softening the impact

Cracking the cartilage riddle, Deakin scientists synthetically mimic the body's most complex lubrication system.

Our People

Lead Investigator

An image of Associate Professor Mark Kirkland Associate Professor Mark Kirkland
Theme Leader

Senior Research Fellow

An image of Dr Cynthia Wong Dr Cynthia Wong
Senior Research Fellow
 

Dr Julie Sharp
Senior Research Fellow

 

Research Fellows

Name Research Topic Contact
Dr Alessandra Sutti
Research Fellow
Nanofibres and nanofibre technologies; hydrogels; scaffold engineering for cell culture; filtration alessandra.sutti@deakin.edu.au
Dr Marzieh Parhizkar
Associate Research Fellow
Nanofibres and nanofibre technologies; scaffold engineering for cell culture; filtration marzieh.parhizkar@deakin.edu.au
Ms Christina Kirkland
Associate Research Fellow
Cell culture; bioassays c.kirkland@deakin.edu.au
Dr Teo Slezak
Associate Research Fellow
Nanofibres and nanofibre technologies t.slezak@deakin.edu.au

Students

Name Research Topic Contact
Magenta Diana Perus Enzymes; nanofibres mperus@deakin.edu.au
Nishat Sharma Enzyme immobilisation and assays nishat@deakin.edu.au
Jacob Hanley Nanofibre manufacturing devices, 3D printing, fluid dynamics modelling jjh@deakin.edu.au
Keiran Pringle Nanofibre manufacturing devices, 3D printing, fluid dynamics modelling kpringle@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

27th February 2015