Deakin Research

Institute for Frontier Materials

print
 

Ion man receives Alfred Deakin Medal

Materials engineering researcher Anthony Somers has been awarded an Alfred Deakin Medal.

Arresting the corrosion factor

Deakin's new Corrosion Research Centre offers unique research access to Australia's critical infrastructure sectors.

Seeing a future in the pipeline

New National Facility for Pipelines Coating Assessment launched at Waurn Ponds.

Novel sensor to detect pipeline corrosion

A new corrosion sensor developed by IFM researchers offers a way to prevent dangerous corrosion in underground pipelines.

Our People

Lead Investigators

Professor Maria Forsyth Professor Maria Forsyth
Chair in Electromaterials and Corrosion Sciences
Australian Laureate Fellow
Associate Professor Mike Tan Professor Mike Tan
Professor of Applied Electrochemistry and Corrosion Technologies
Professor Bruce Hinton Professor Bruce Hinton
Adjunct Professor
Dr Patrick Howlett Dr Patrick Howlett
Senior Research Fellow
Dr Daniel Fabijanic Dr Daniel Fabijanic
Senior Research Fellow

Research Fellows

Name Research Topic Contact
Dr Jianyu Xiong
Research Fellow
Smart materials for corrosion management of desalination infrastructures. jianyu.xiong@deakin.edu.au
Dr Dang Nam Nguyen
Alfred Deakin Research Fellow
Carbon dioxide corrosion inhibitors. nguyen.dangnam@deakin.edu.au
Davi Abreu
Research Engineer
Energy Pipeline CRC coatings. davi.abreu@deakin.edu.au
Dr Rajeev Gupta
Research Fellow
Electrochemical corrosion of energy pipelines. r.gupta@deakin.edu.au

STUDENTS

Name Research Topic Contact
Infant Gabriel Bosco   ibosco@deakin.edu.au
Peipei Huang Passivation of AA5083 Aluminium Alloys Using Ionic Liquids. phuan@deakin.edu.au
Rainier Catubig Corrosion inhibition mechanisms of AA2024-T3 with rare earth mercaptoacetate inhibitors. rcatubig@deakin.edu.au
Yafei Zhang Biocompatible ionic liquids as a means to control the corrosion of magnesium alloys for coronary artery stents applications. yafei@deakin.edu.au
Facundo Varela Monitoring steel corrosion and cathodic protection under disbonded pipeline coatings. fvarela@deakin.edu.au
Ying Huo Quantification of the effect of telluric and traction excursions on cathodic protection. yhuo@deakin.edu.au
Reza Parvizi Understanding heterogeneous electrode processes. rparvisi@deakin.edu.au
Faribra Mahdavi A fundamental electrochemical study on organic coating disbondment.  fmahdavi@deakin.edu.au
Shyama Ranade Detection and measurement of the initiation and propagation of pipeline coating damage under various environmental and cathodic protection conditions. sranade@deakin.edu.au
Phillip Wyld Understanding the effects of crevice and galvanic corrosion for seawater desalination plant management. pwyld@deakin.edu.au
Yuhao Luo Simulating and understanding localised corrosion of stainless steels under simulated desalination environmental conditions. yuhaol@deakin.edu.au
Chao Zeng Management of liquid transfer in coatings. zech@deakin.edu.au
Yunfei Ding Biocompatible magnesium alloy scaffolds for hard tissue engineering. yunfei@deakin.edu.au
Dolly Mushahary Functionalisation of magnesium alloys with proteins for their use as bioimplants. dmushaha@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

5th May 2014