Deakin Research

Institute for Frontier Materials

print
 

Softening the impact

Cracking the cartilage riddle, Deakin scientists synthetically mimic the body's most complex lubrication system.

Polymer heavyweights to hit Geelong

Deakin is set to host the 14th International Symposium on Polymer Electrolytes in Geelong.

Funding success for electromaterials researchers

Deakin to be part of a cutting edge new ARC Centre of Excellence.

Our People

Lead Investigators

An image of Professor Maria Forsyth Professor Maria Forsyth
Chair in Electromaterials and Corrosion Sciences
Australian Laureate Fellow
An image of Professor Tony Hollenkamp Professor Tony Hollenkamp
Adjunct Professor
An image of dr luke o'dell Dr Luke O'Dell
Senior Lecturer of NMR Spectroscopy
An image of Dr Patrick Howlett Dr Patrick Howlett
Senior Research Fellow
An image of Dr Jenny Pringle Dr Jenny Pringle
Senior Research Fellow

Research Team

Name Research Topic Contact
Dr Fangfang Chen
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Developing new materials for a sustainable energy future fangfang.chen@deakin.edu.au
Dr Matthias Hilder
Research Fellow
Phosphonium ionic liquids for lithium batteries m.hilder@deakin.edu.au
Dr Cristina Pozo-Gonzalo
Research Fellow
Metal-air battery cathode catalysis and ionic liquid electrolytes cpg@deakin.edu.au
Dr Martin Yoon
Research Fellow
New materials for sodium-ion batteries and portable power storage for defence applications hyun.yoon@deakin.edu.au
Dr Daniel Gunzelmann
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Solid-state NMR applications for frontier materials daniel.gunzelmann@deakin.edu.au
Dr Haijin Zhu
Research Fellow
Solid-state NMR studies of electromaterials and polymers h.zhu@deakin.edu.au
Dr Konstantin Romanenko
Associate Research Fellow
Micro-imaging methods and applications, xenon NMR k.romanenko@deakin.edu.au
Dr Anthony Somers
Research Associate
  anthony.somers@deakin.edu.au
Dr Timothy Khoo
Industry engagement timothy.khoo@deakin.edu.au

Students

Name Research Topic Contact
Cameron Pope Characterisation of novel electrolyte materials for sodium ion batteries crpop@deakin.edu.au
Asing (Xingyu) Chen   asing.chen@deakin.edu.au
Yogita Vijaykumar Oza Studying structure and ion transport in lithium conducting polymer electrolytes yoza@deakin.edu.au
Danah Tawfiq Hasan Al-Masri Design and use of redox active ionic electrolytes for thermal energy harvesting dalmasri@deakin.edu.au
Gaetan Girard Phosphonium-based ionic liquids for lithium-ion battery electrolytes ggirard@deakin.edu.au
Nahid Iranipour Novel organic ionic plastic crystal electrospun nanofibre composites: transport behavior, battery application niranipo@deakin.edu.au
Lane MacDonald Novel plastic crystal membranes for gas seperation jlmcdona@deakin.edu.au
Tristan Simons Ionic liquid electrolytes for secondary zinc batteries tsimons@deakin.edu.au
Yajing Yan Ionic liquid electrolytes in Mg-Air batteries yjenn@deakin.edu.au
Douglas Feast   dfeas@deakin.edu.au
Srdan Begic   sbegic@deakin.edu.au

Visitors

Name Research Topic Contact
Celia Garnier   celia.garnier@deakin.edu.au
Anais Pradignac   anais.pradignac@deakin.edu.au

Deakin University acknowledges the traditional land owners of present campus sites.

15th April 2014