Our People and Publications

Professors

An image of Xungai Wang Professor Xungai Wang (AFFRIC)
Director, Australian Future Fibres Research & Innovation Centre
Alfred Deakin Professor
Bronwyn Fox Professor Bronwyn Fox (Carbon Fibre and Composites)
Carbon Fibre and Composite Research Team Leader
Professor Qipeng Guo (Polymers)
Theme Leader
Tong Lin Professor Tong Lin (Functional fibrous materials and nanofibres)
ARC Future Fellow

Senior Research Fellows

Nolene Byrne Dr Nolene Byrne
Senior Research Fellow
Luke Henderson Dr Luke Henderson
Senior Research Fellow
Jingliang Li Dr Jingliang Li
Senior Research Fellow
Kevin Magniez Dr Kevin Magniez
Senior Research Fellow
Bruce McGregor Dr Bruce McGregor
Senior Research Fellow
Minoo Naebe Dr Minoo Naebe
Senior Research Fellow
Cynthia Wong Dr Cynthia Wong
Senior Research Fellow

Research Fellows

Name Research Topic Contact
Dr Steve Agius
Associate Research Fellow
Damage initiation within automotive primary structures s.agius@deakin.edu.au
Dr Ben Allardyce
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Silk-based biomaterials ben.allardyce@deakin.edu.au
Dr Claudia Creighton
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Structure-property relationships of carbon fibre and rapid composite processing claudia.creighton@deakin.edu.au
Dr Mandy de Souza
Research Fellow
Surface finish of composites m.herring@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jian Fang
Research Fellow
Nanofibres jian.fang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Nishar Hameed
Research Fellow
Processing and characterisation of nanostructured precursors for high performance fibres and thermoformable composite materials nishar.hameed@deakin.edu.au
Dr Christopher Hurren
Research Fellow
Hemp fibres, biomaterials and functional fabrics christopher.hurren@deakin.edu.au
Dr Hamid Khayyam
Research Fellow
Modelling and simulation of carbon fibre production proces h.khayyam@deakin.edu.au
Dr Zhenyu Li
Casual Research Fellow
Nanofibres zhenyu.li@deakin.edu.au
Dr Xin Liu
Research Fellow
Natural fibres and textiles xin.liu@deakin.edu.au
Dr Maryam Naebe
Research Fellow
Comfort properties of next-to-skin wool materials maryam.naebe@deakin.edu.au
Dr Haitao Niu
Associate Research Fellow
Nanofibres haitao.niu@deakin.edu.au
Dr Rangam Rajkhowa
Research Fellow
Natural fibre processing and silk-based biomaterials rangam.rajkhowa@deakin.edu.au
Dr Nisa Salim
Research Fellow
High performance carbon fibre nisa.salim@deakin.edu.au
Dr Ping'An Song
Alfred Deakin Postdoctoral Fellow

p.song@deakin.edu.au
Dr Lu Sun
Research Fellow
Using functional nanoparticles to prevent wool yellowing lu.sun@deakin.edu.au
Dr Alessandra Sutti
Reearch Fellow
Biomaterials alessandra.sutti@deakin.edu.au
Dr Hongxia Wang Functional fibres hong.wang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jinfeng Wang
Research Fellow
Functional fibrous materials and applications such as UV protection and odour removal jinfeng.wang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jing Wang Natural fibre separation and applications jing.wang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Jin Zhang
Research Fellow
Biological composites and protective materials jin.zhang@deakin.edu.au
Dr Yan Zhao
Research Fellow
Functional fibres yan.zhao@deakin.edu.au

Students

Name Research Topic Contact
Peter Bruchmüller Micro-scale fatigue and fracture analysis in carbon composites pbruchmu@deakin.edu.au
Zengxiao Cai Three-dimensional fibrous scaffolds with a nano-structural functional surface zengxiao@deakin.edu.au
Thomas Chaffraix Self healing - based resin for composite materials tchaffra@deakin.edu.au
Erwan Castanet Bio-composites for automotive applications ecastane@deakin.edu.au
Jasmine Cleminson Production of neurotrophic factors by umbilical cord blood cells jclemins@deakin.edu.au
Genevieve Crowle Differential dye uptake of Australian cotton fibre gacr@deakin.edu.au
Saeed Dadvar Multifunctional nanofibrous materials with superb characteristics sdadva@deakin.edu.au
Chantal Denham Defining and applying the glass transition of cotton cdenham@deakin.edu.au
Rasike De Silva Green natural fibre materials: processing, characterisation and applications rdesil@deakin.edu.au
Shan Du Functional silk materials: fabrication and applications shand@deakin.edu.au
Linpeng Fan Self-reinforced three-dimensional silk fibroin nanofibre based scaffolds for bone tissue engineering linpeng@deakin.edu.au
Gelayol Golkarnarenji Mathematical, experimental, modelling and simulation of oxidation ovens in carbon fibre process ggolkar@deakin.edu.au
Haoguan Gui
hgui@deakin.edu.au
Matthew Jennings The effect of processing parameters on sandwich structures for aerospace applications mjenning@deakin.edu.au
Xing Jin Modelling of heat and moisture transfer through silkworm cocoon jxing@deakin.edu.au
Geo Jose Thermoforming of carbon fibre reinforced thermoplastic composites geoj@deakin.edu.au
Mehdi Kazemimostaghim Silk powder production, characterisation and application mkazemim@deakin.edu.au
Masihullah Jabarulla Khan
mjabarul@deakin.edu.au
Quanxiang Li Hierarchical composites reinforced with carbon nanotube coated fibres lquan@deakin.edu.au
Xueyang Liu Preparation of electrostatic spinning anti-ultraviolet nanofibress xueyang@deakin.edu.au
Maxime Maghe Environmentally benign solvents for carbon fibre precursor fibre spinning maxime.maghe@deakin.edu.au
Sepehr Moradi Cashmere and hair smoradi@deakin.edu.au
Sahar Naghashian Shape memory alloy-carbon fibre composites snaghas@deakin.edu.au
Robert Nunn Towards environmentally sustainable carbon fibre rdn@deakin.edu.au
Srinivas Nunna Evaluation of new low cost carbon fibres in automotive applications snunna@deakin.edu.au
Azam Oroumei Alternative precursor materials for production of carbon fibres soroumei@deakin.edu.au
Esfandiar Pakdel Enhancing textile features unsing nanocomposites epakdel@deakin.edu.au
Anbazhagan Palanisamy Self-assembled conjugated polymer complexes via electrostatic interaction apalani@deakin.edu.au
Amol Janardan Patil Enhancement of durability of polymer coated textiles amolp@deakin.edu.au
Racim Radjef Fibre-matrix adhesion of polymer coated carbon fibre r.radjef@deakin.edu.au
Deepa Ram Graphene reinforced nano-composites dchandr@deakin.edu.au
Shauna Seneviratne Mode of action of ficolin in haematopoietic stem cells ssenevir@deakin.edu.au
Deyed Mohsen Seraji Bio Polymer Foams: processing, Properties and cellular structure sseraji@deakin.edu.au
Linden Servinis Functionalisation of carbon fiber toward enhanced fibre/matrix adhesion lservini@deakin.edu.au
Sajjad Shafei Development of biodegradable composite fibre and film sshafei@deakin.edu.au
Hao Shao Novel piezoelectric generators from electrospun nanofibres hao.shao@deakin.edu.au
Muhammad Nadeem Shuakat How nanofibre generators affect properties and productivity of nanofibre yarn mshuakat@deakin.edu.au
Charanpreet Singh A biomimetic approach for designing cardiovascular stent graft structures

 csingh@deakin.edu.au

Marinus van der Sluijs The mechanism of nep formation in Australian cotton processing mvanders@deakin.edu.au
Yao Yu UV interaction with fibres and fibrous structures yaoy@deakin.edu.au
Omid Zabihi Polymer nano-composite with surface modified particles ozabihi@deakin.edu.au
Chao Zeng Novel methods and technologies to obtain water-controlled fabrics zech@deakin.edu.au
Mingwen Zhang Synthesis of functional nanoparticles to prevent wool yellowing mingwen@deakin.edu.au
Tao Zhang Synthesis and nanostructures of supramolecular organogels zhta@deakin.edu.au
Hua Zhou

 Durable, non-wetting fabrics: their preparation and wetting function

hua.zhou@deakin.edu.au
Licheng Zhu Novel fabric structures and their properties lichengz@deakin.edu.au

Research Support Staff

Name Contact
Tristan Alexander tristan.alexander@deakin.edu.au
Mr Steve Atkiss s.atkiss@deakin.edu.au
Alex Borda Coca alejandro.borda@deakin.edu.au
Alexis Leblais alexis.leblais@deakin.edu.au
Josephine Posterino j.posterino@deakin.edu.au
Katrina Robertson katrina.robertson@deakin.edu.au
Pedro Sousa pedro.sousa@deakin.edu.au
Madhu Suryanarayana madhusudan.suryanarayana@deakin.edu.au
Shuying Wu shuying.w@deakin.edu.au
Marion Wright marion.wright@deakin.edu.au
Dr Zhiguang Xu zhiguang.xu@deakin.edu.au
Page custodian: Deakin Research
Last updated: